Thank You For The Rain

MI 14 NOV 18.30


AN EVENT IN COOPERATION WITH THE HEINRICH BÖLL FOUNDATION
AT  KINO ARSENAL, POTSDAMER STRASSE 2, 10785 BERLIN
ADMISSION FREE

THANK YOU FOR THE RAIN BY JULIA DAHR AND KISILU MUSYA
UK / NORWAY 2017 DCP OME 90 MIN

PODIUM CONVERSATION WITH KISILU MUSYA (CO DIRECTOR, AGRICULTURAL AND ENVIRONMENTAL ACTIVIST, KENYA), MODERATION: NADJA OFUATEY-ALAZARD; TALK IN ENGLISH LANGUAGE


Floods, droughts and heavy storms – climate change has fatal consequences, especially for the rural population of African countries. Over five years, Kenyan farmer Kisilu Musya documented in a video diary the effects of extreme weather on his family and his hometown Mutomo. After a devastating storm, Kisilu Musya begins to mobilize the farmers in his region and finally brings their demands to the UN Climate Change Conference in Paris. There he meets the inertia and cynicism of international politics, but also the global solidarity of activists for climate justice.

The moving documentary, which was created from video material in cooperation with the Norwegian filmmaker Julia Dahr, follows the path of Kisilu Musya from Mutomo to Oslo and Paris. Climate justice, climate change and adaptation are just as central as questions of gender equality and access to education and resources.

After the film, we talk with Kisilu Musya about the genesis of the film, the situation in Kenya and its expectations of international climate policy.


KISILU MUSYA is a farmer from Mutomo in Southeast Kenya. He is the main protagonist and co-director of the THANK YOU FOR THE RAIN movie, which has documented over five years the life of his family, his village, and the impact of climate change on agriculture. With his knowledge of his land and climate, Kisilu is testing new farming practices and representing his community on a national and international level, where he works tirelessly for concrete commitments to tackle climate change.


The Heinrich Böll Foundation works together with project partners worldwide. It currently has offices in 34 countries, four of them in Africa: Nairobi, Cape Town, Dakar and Abuja. Main focuses are u.a. Globalization and sustainable development, strengthening civil society and promoting democracy.

Thank You For The Rain

MI 14 NOV 18.30


SONDERVERANSTALTUNG
KINO ARSENAL POTSDAMER STRASSE 2, 10785 BERLIN
EINTRITT FREI

THANK YOU FOR THE RAIN VON JULIA DAHR UND KISILU MUSYA
UK / NORWEGEN 2017 DCP OME 90 MIN

IM ANSCHLUSS PODIUMSGESPRÄCH MIT KISILU MUSYA (CO-REGISSEUR, LANDWIRT UND UMWELTAKTIVIST, KENIA), MODERATION: NADJA OFUATEY-ALAZARD

GESPRÄCH IN ENGLISCHER SPRACHE


Überschwemmungen, Dürre und starke Unwetter – der Klimawandel hat fatale Folgen insbesondere für die Landbevölkerung afrikanischer Länder. Über fünf Jahre dokumentierte der kenianische Landwirt Kisilu Musya in einem Video-Tagebuch die Auswirkungen des extremen Wetters auf seine Familie und sein Heimatdorf Mutomo. Nach einem verheerenden Sturm beginnt Kisilu Musya die Landwirte in seiner Region zu mobilisieren und bringt schließlich ihre Forderungen bis zur UN-Klimakonferenz in Paris. Dort trifft er auf die Trägheit und den Zynismus internationaler Politik, aber auch auf die globale Solidarität von Aktivist*innen für Klimagerechtigkeit.

Der bewegende Dokumentarfilm, der in Kooperation mit der norwegischen Filmemacherin Julia Dahr aus dem Videomaterial entstanden ist, begleitet den Weg von Kisilu Musya von Mutomo nach Oslo und Paris. Klimagerechtigkeit, Klimaflucht und -anpassung stehen dabei genauso im Zentrum wie Fragen nach Geschlechtergerechtigkeit und Zugang zu Bildung und Ressourcen.

Im Anschluss des Films reden wir mit Kisilu Musya über die Entstehung des Films, über die Situation in Kenia und seine Erwartungen an die internationale Klimapolitik.


KISILU MUSYA ist ein Landwirt aus Mutomo in Südost- Kenia. Er ist Hauptprotagonist und Co-Regisseur des Films THANK YOU FOR THE RAIN, für den er über fünf Jahre lang das Leben seiner Familie, seines Dorfes und die Folgen des Klimawandels auf die Landwirtschaft dokumentiert hat. Mit seinen Kenntnissen über sein Land und das Klima erprobt Kisilu neue Anbaumethoden und vertritt seine Community auf nationaler und internationaler Ebene, wo er sich unermüdlich für konkrete Zusagen gegen den Klimawandel stark macht.


Die grün-nahe Heinrich-Böll-Stiftung arbeitet mit Projektpartnern weltweit zusammen. Derzeit unterhält sie Büros in 34 Ländern, vier davon in Afrika: Nairobi, Kapstadt, Dakar und Abuja. Arbeitsschwerpunkte sind u.a. Globalisierung und nachhaltige Entwicklung, Stärkung der Zivilgesellschaft und Demokratieförderung.