Souad

FR 19 NOV
20.00 ARSENAL
TICKETS

by Ayten Amin
Egypt, Tunisia, Germany | 2021 | 96 min | OV with Engl. Subs

 

Mansoura, a town in the northern Nile Delta. Souad, a 19-year-old medical student, leads a double life. While she appears conformed and wearing a veil in the circle of her family and society, Souad develops a completely different image of herself on Facebook and Instagram. Gradually reality intrudes into her dream world – until a series of small incidents leads to a tragic event…

With her latest feature film, Egyptian director Ayten Amin has created a drama whose story is representative of the challenge of the search for identity among millions of young people in post-revolutionary Egypt, caught between upheaval and Islamic conservatism.

 

Ayten Amin was born in Alexandria, Egypt in 1978. She studied film criticism at the Egyptian Cinema Writers and Critics Association and then film at the Art Lab of the American University in Cairo. Her graduation film “Her Man” (2006) is based on a short story by Egyptian writer Ahdaf Soueif and was presented at several festivals. The film “Tahrir 2011: The Good, the Bad, and the Politician”, which she co-directed, premiered in Venice. Her feature film debut “Villa 69” (2013) was screened at the Abu Dhabi Film Festival, Malmö and Cannes.

 

Categories

Souad

FR 19 NOV
20.00 ARSENAL
TICKETS

von Ayten Amin
Ägypten, Tunesien, Deutschland | 2021 | 96 min | OmE

 

Mansoura, eine Stadt im nördlichen Nildelta. Souad, eine 19 Jahre alte Medizinstudentin führt ein Doppelleben. Während sie im Kreis ihrer Familie und der Gesellschaft angepasst und mit Schleier auftritt, entwickelt Souad auf Facebook und Instagram ein völlig anderes Bild ihrer selbst. Allmählich dringt die Realität in ihre Wunschwelt ein – bis eine Serie kleiner Zwischenfälle zu einem tragischen Ereignis führt…

Mit ihrem aktuellen Spielfilm hat die ägyptischen Regisseurin Ayten Amin ein Drama geschaffen, dessen Geschichte stellvertretend für die Herausforderung der Identitätssuche von Millionen von Jugendlichen im postrevolutionären Ägypten zwischen Aufbruch und islamischen Konservatismus steht.

 

Ayten Amin wurde 1978 in Alexandria, Ägypten geboren. Sie studierte Filmkritik bei der Egyptian Cinema Writers and Critics Association und anschließend Film im Art Lab der American University in Kairo. Ihr Abschlussfilm „Her Man“ (2006) basierte auf einer Kurzgeschichte der ägyptischen Schriftstellerin Ahdaf Soueif und wurde beim Kurzfilmfestival Clermont-Ferrand in Frankreich und auf vielen weiteren Festivals gezeigt. Der Film „Tahrir 2011: The Good, the Bad, and the Politician“, den sie als Co-Regisseurin realisierte, wurde in Venedig uraufgeführt. Ihr Langfilmdebüt „Villa 69“ (2013) wurde auf dem Abu Dhabi Film Festival, in Malmö und in Cannes gezeigt.