SARRAOUNIA

SUN 22 NOV 15:00

ALL films rented on November 22nd, 2020 can only be streamed until November 22nd, 2020 11:59 pm (CET). 


Med Hondo
Mauritania / Burkina Faso / France 1986 | Original version with subtitles | 120 min


On January 2, 1899, a column led by the French generals Voulet and Chanoine was sent out from French Sudan to fight the black Sultan Rabah in what is now southern Niger. The colonialists left a trail of destruction on their way south. While neighboring peoples either show no willingness to fight or even collaborate with colonialists, Sarrounia, the legendary Queen of the Azna, opposes the colonial terror mission…
Inspired by the novel of the same name by the Nigerian writer Abdoulaye Mamani, AFRIKAMERA is showing SARRAOUNIA, a classic by the French-Mauritanian filmmaker Med Hondo, who died in 2019.

The Battle of the Black Queen was presented at the 1986 FESPACO film festival, where it was enthusiastically received by the African audience and awarded with the main prize. In France, the film was shown in only five cinemas instead of 14, as originally agreed with the film distributor, and was withdrawn from the program after only two weeks. Several French artists and intellectuals, including the director Costa-Gavras, felt this was censorship because of the unwelcome subject matter and protested against it, but without success. In other countries, the film was only shown at festivals, including the Berlinale Forum in 1987. For Med Hondo, who was also the producer of the film, the lack of cinema revenues meant personal financial bankruptcy.


Med Hondo, Med Hondo, born in 1936 in Atar, Mauritania, emigrated to France in the late 1950s, where he founded a theater group in Paris and turned to film. In the mid-1960s he began shooting his first feature film Soleil Ô, which attracted international attention. In his subsequent films Hondo dealt with the history of the African continent and its diaspora. He died in Paris in 2019.

SARRAOUNIA

SO 22 NOV 15:00

ALLE am 22.11.2020 gemieteten Filme sind nur bis zum 22.11.2020 23:59Uhr (MEZ) abrufbar. 


Med Hondo
Mauretanien / Burkina Faso / Frankreich 1986 | OmE | 120 min


Am 2. Januar 1899 wird ausgehend vom französischen Sudan eine Kolonne unter Führung der französischen Generäle Voulet und Chanoine gegen den schwarzen Sultan Rabah im heutigen Süden Nigers geschickt. Die Kolonialisten hinterlassen eine Spur der Zerstörung auf ihrem Weg nach Süden. Während angrenzende Völker entweder keine Kampfbereitschaft zeigen oder gar mit Kolonialisten kollaborieren, stellt sich Sarraounia, die sagenumwobene Königin der Azna, der kolonialen Terrormission entgegen…

Inspiriert vom gleichnamigen Roman des nigrischen Schriftstellers Abdoulaye Mamani, zeigt AFRIKAMERA mit SARRAOUNIA einen Klassiker des 2019 verstorbenen französisch-mauretanischen Filmemachers Med Hondo.
Der Kampf der schwarzen Königin wurde 1986 beim Filmfestival FESPACO präsentiert, wo er vom afrikanischen Publikum begeistert aufgenommen und mit dem Hauptpreis auszeichnet wurde. In Frankreich lief der Film statt in 14 Kinos, wie ursprünglich mit dem Filmverleih vereinbart, nur in fünf Kinos an und wurde bereits nach zwei Wochen aus dem Programm genommen. Mehrere französische Künstler*innen und Intellektuelle, darunter der Regisseur Costa-Gavras, empfanden dies als Zensur aufgrund des unliebsamen Themas und protestierten dagegen, jedoch ohne Erfolg. In anderen Ländern war der Film nur bei Festivals zu sehen, darunter im Rahmen des Berlinale Forums 1987. Für Med Hondo, der auch Produzent des Films war, bedeuteten die ausbleibenden Kinoeinnahmen den persönlichen finanziellen Bankrott.


Med Hondo, geboren 1936 in Atar, Mauretanien, emigrierte Ende der 1950er-Jahre nach Frankreich, wo er in Paris eine Theatergruppe gründete und sich dem Film zuwandte. Mitte der 1960er-Jahre begann er mit den Dreharbeiten zu seinem ersten Spielfilm Soleil Ô, der international Aufmerksamkeit erregte. In seinen darauffolgenden Filmen thematisierte Hondo die Geschichte des afrikanischen Kontinents und dessen Diaspora. Er starb 2019 in Paris.