Horn of Africa – Best of Shorts

FR 16 NOV 19.00


HORN OF AFRICA – BEST OF SHORTS
SHORT FILM PROGRAM
ETHIOPIA / DSCHIBUTI / KENYA / SUDAN 2012 – 17
DIGITAL OV CA. 70 MIN
CONCLUDING TALK WITH LULA ALI ISMAÏL (DIRECTOR, DSCHIBUTI) AND ABRAHAM HAILE BIRU, PRESIDENT OF THE COLOUR OF THE NILE FESTIVAL (ETHIOPIA)


With the program HORN OF AFRICA – BEST OF SHORTS, AFRIKAMERA presents a selection of outstanding short films from the region.

LAN by Lula Ali Ismaïl tells the story of three friends – Souad, Oubah and Ayane – who live in the capital of Djibouti. Souad has difficulty meeting a soulmate. Oubah is worried that her husband might leave her. And Ayane has a very special secret.

CHEBET by Tony Koros is dedicated to the fate of a pregnant woman suffering from her alcoholic husband. When she finds him again unconscious in front of her house, she decides to resort to drastic measures.

Jessica Beshir portrays in HAIRAT Yussuf Mume Saleh, who has been traveling outside the city walls of Harar – the centuries-old Ethiopian city – every night for more than 35 years to feed his beloved Spotted Hyenas. His special relationship with the hyenas is not unusual in Harar: despite the terrible reputation of these predators, the local population has a long symbiotic relationship with them.

ONE WEEK TWO DAYS by Marwa Zein paints the portrait of Leila and Ibrahim, a Sudanese couple confronted with an unexpected pregnancy.

Horn of Africa – Best of Shorts

FR 16 NOV 19.00


HORN OF AFRICA – BEST OF SHORTS
KURZFILMPROGRAM
ÄTHIOPIEN / DSCHIBUTI / KENIA / SUDAN 2012 – 17
DIGITAL OME CA. 70 MIN
ANSCHLIESSEND GESPRÄCH MIT LULA ALI ISMAÏL (REGISEURIN, DSCHIBUTI) UND ABRAHAM HAILE BIRU, PRÄSIDENT DES COLOURS OF THE NILE FESTIVAL (ÄTHIOPIEN)


Mit dem Programm HORN OF AFRICA – BEST OF SHORTS präsentiert AFRIKAMERA eine Auswahl herausragender Kurzfilme aus der Region.

LAN von Lula Ali Ismaïl erzählt vom Alltag dreier Freundinnen – Souad, Oubah und Ayane –, die in der Hauptstadt von Dschibuti leben. Souad hat Schwierigkeiten, einen Seelenverwandten zu treffen. Oubah macht sich Sorgen, dass sich ihr Ehemann von ihr entfernen könnte. Und Ayane hat ein ganz besonderes Geheimnis.

CHEBET von Tony Koros widmet sich dem Schicksal einer unter ihrem alkoholkranken Mann leidenden, schwangeren Frau. Als sie ihn erneut bewusstlos vor ihrem Haus auffindet, entschließt sie sich, zu drastischen Maßnahmen zu greifen.

Jessica Beshir porträtiert in HAIRAT Yussuf Mume Saleh, der seit mehr als 35 Jahren jede Nacht außerhalb der Stadtmauern von Harar – der jahrhundertealten äthiopischen Stadt – unterwegs ist, um seine geliebten Tüpfelhyänen zu füttern. Seine besondere Beziehung zu den Hyänen ist in Harar nicht ungewöhnlich: Trotz des fürchterlichen Rufs dieser Raubtiere hat die lokale Bevölkerung eine lange symbiotische Beziehung zu ihnen.

ONE WEEK TWO DAYS von Marwa Zein zeichnet das Porträt von Leila und Ibrahim, einem sudanesischen Liebespaar, das mit einer unerwarteten Schwangerschaft konfrontiert wird.