HOMMAGE IDRISSA OUEDRAOGO

MI 14 NOV 17.00


SHORT FILM PROGRAM
BURKINA FASO 1981 – 86 DVD OV 70 MIN
IN COOPERATION WITH THE CINÉMATHÈQUE AFRIQUE
IN THE PRESENCE OF SALAM ZAMPALIGRÉ (BURKINA FASO / AFRIKAMERA RESIDENCY)


With the presentation of a selection of four early short films from 1981 – 86, AFRIKAMERA commemorates the Burkinabe director and Cannes award winner, who died in February this year.

In his first short film POURQUOI (1981, 5 min), a man dreams of killing his wife. Terrified, he wakes up wondering if he may have not dreamed?

In LES ECUELES (1983, 11 min), Ouédraogo explores the rural exodus of Mossi in northern Burkina Faso and its implications for the traditional craft of wooden bowl production.

ISSA, LE TISSERAND (1984, 20 min) is the portrait of a traditional weaver from Ouagadougou. Despite his master craftsmanship, he sees himself abandoned by his clientele, who prefers import laundry from Europe. So he buys a car and a bundle of second-hand clothes to get his business up and running again …

TENGA (1986, 34 min) is about a farmer who tries his luck in the Burkinabe capital Ouagadougou to escape rural poverty. He leaves both his wife and his old mother behind. Once there, he beats his way through as a small greengrocer until he learns of his mother’s death and returns to his home village …


IDRISSA OUEDRAOGO was a key figure in Sub-Saharan cinema with more than forty films in his oeuvre. Born in 1954 in Banfora (Burkina Faso), he first studied at the Institut du cinéma de la capitale Ouagadougou to finish his studies in 1985 in Paris at the legendary IDHEC in 1985 and at the Sorbonne in 1989 the diploma in depth film knowledge to get. In 1986 he shot his first feature film YAM DAABO, followed by YAABA. He received the Prix de la Critique at the Cannes Film Festival in 1989 and the Audience Award at FESPACO. In 1990 he realized TILAÏ – THE LAW, which won the Grand Prix du Jury in Cannes and the best feature film of the FESPACO. Ouédraogo founded his own production company Les Films de la Plaine and got the Silver Bear in 1993 for SAMBA TRAORÉ in Berlin. In 2002 he contributed an episode to the omnibus film 11’09 “01 – SEPTEMBER 11, produced several television series and campaigned for a better financing of African film. In 2017, he was inducted into the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Services, which annually awards the Oscars.

Hommage an Idrissa Ouedraogo

MI 14 NOV 17.00


KURZFILMPROGRAMM
BURKINA FASO 1981 – 86 DVD OV 70 MIN
IN ZUSAMMENARBEIT MIT DER CINÉMATHÈQUE AFRIQUE
IN ANWESENHEIT VON SALAM ZAMPALIGRÉ (BURKINA FASO / AFRIKAMERA RESIDENCY)


Mit der Präsentation einer Auswahl von vier frühen Kurzfilmen aus den Jahren 1981 – 86 erinnert AFRIKAMERA an den im Februar dieses Jahres verstorbenen burkinischen Regisseur und Cannes-Preisträger.

In seinem ersten Kurzfilm POURQUOI (1981, 5 min) träumt ein Mann von der Tötung seiner Frau. Verängstigt wacht er auf und fragt sich, ob er möglicherweise gar nicht geträumt hat?

In LES ECUELES (1983, 11 min) setzt sich Ouédraogo mit der Landflucht der Mossi im Norden Burkina Fasos und den damit verbundenen Auswirkungen auf das traditionelle Handwerk der Holzschalenfertigung auseinander.

ISSA, LE TISSERAND (1984, 20 min) ist das Porträt eines traditionellen Webers aus Ouagadougou. Trotz seiner handwerklichen Meisterschaft sieht er sich von seiner Kundschaft im Stich gelassen, die Importwäsche aus Europa bevorzugt. Also kauft er sich einen Wagen und ein Bündel Second- Hand-Klamotten, um sein Geschäft wieder zum Laufen zu bringen…

TENGA (1986, 34 min) handelt von einem Bauern, der sein Glück in der burkinischen Hauptstadt Ouagadougou versucht, um der ländlichen Armut zu entfliehen. Dabei lässt er sowohl seine Frau als auch seine alte Mutter zurück. Dort angekommen, schlägt er sich als kleiner Gemüsehändler durch, bis er vom Tod seiner Mutter erfährt und in sein Heimatdorf zurückkehrt…


IDRISSA OUEDRAOGO war mit seinem mehr als vierzig Filme umfassenden OEuvre eine Schlüsselfigur des subsaharischen Kinos. Geboren 1954 in Banfora (Burkina Faso), studierte er zunächst am Institut du cinéma de la capitale Ouagadougou, um nach einem kurzen Aufenthalt in Kiew im Jahr 1981 in Paris am legendären IDHEC 1985 sein Studium abzuschließen und an der Sorbonne 1989 das Diplom für vertiefte Filmkenntnis zu erlangen. 1986 drehte er seinen ersten Spielfilm YAM DAABO, auf den YAABA folgte. Er erhielt den Prix de la Critique bei den Filmfestspielen von Cannes 1989 und den Publikumspreis beim FESPACO. 1990 realisierte er TILAÏ – THE LAW, der in Cannes mit dem Grand Prix du Jury und als bester Spielfilm beim FESPACO ausgezeichnet wurde. Ouédraogo gründete seine eigene Produktionsfirma Les Films de la Plaine und holte sich in Berlin den Silbernen Bären im Jahr 1993 für SAMBA TRAORÉ. 2002 steuerte er eine Episode zu dem Omnibusfilm 11’09”01 – SEPTEMBER 11 bei, produzierte verschiedene Fernsehserien und setzte sich für eine bessere Finanzierung des afrikanischen Films ein. 2017 wurde er in die Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Services aufgenommen, die jährlich die Oscars vergibt.