FINDING SALLY

THU 19 NOV 19.00


in cooperation with the Heinrich Böll Foundation | Screening and Discussion ONLINE
Tamara Mariam Dawit
Ethiopia / Canada 2020 | Original version with subtitles I 78 min

here the link to register for the film
https://calendar.boell.de/en/event/finding-sally

Followed by a discussion with Tamara Dawit (director), Fisseha Tekle (Amnesty International Ethiopia) and Ulf Terlinden (Heinrich Böll Foundation Kenya) in english language



The documentary FINDING SALLY (Ethiopia / Canada 2020) tells the story of a 23-year-old woman from an upper class family who became a communist rebel when she joined the Ethiopian Revolutionary People’s Party. Sally ended up on the military government’s most wanted list. She went into hiding and never saw her family again. Four decades after Sally’s disappearance, Tamara Dawit puts the life of her aunt Sally together. Her search leads her to question notions of belonging, personal beliefs, and political ideals at a time when Ethiopia is once again undergoing major political changes.

Following the screening, director Tamara Dawit, human rights expert Fisseha Tekle (Amnesty International Ethiopia) and Ulf Terlinden (Heinrich Böll Foundation Kenya) will discuss the film, its genesis and the political events in Ethiopia with a special focus on the human rights situation there. The event will take place online at calendar.boell.de/en/event/finding-sally.


Tamara Dawit is a filmmaker of Ethiopian, British and Ukrainian origin. She lives and works in Ethiopia. Dawit has produced documentaries such as Forgotten Children (2007, EOne), Girls of Latitude (2008, MTV/CTV) and directed Grandma Knows Best? (2014, Bravo).

FINDING SALLY


in Kooperation mit der Heinrich-Böll-Stiftung | Screening und Diskussion ONLINE
Tamara Mariam Dawit
Äthiopien / Kanada 2020 I OmE | 78 min

Link für die Anmeldung zum Film https://calendar.boell.de/de/event/finding-sally
anschließend Diskussion mit Tamara Dawit (Regisseurin), Fisseha Tekle (Amnesty International Ethiopia) und Ulf Terlinden (Heinrich-Böll-Stiftung Kenia)
In englischer Sprache



Der Dokumentarfilm FINDING SALLY (Äthiopien / Kanada 2020) erzählt die Geschichte einer 23-jährigen Frau aus einer Familie der Oberschicht, die mit dem Eintritt in die Äthiopische Revolutionäre Volkspartei zu einer kommunistischen Rebellin wurde. Sally landete auf der Liste der meistgesuchten Personen der Militärregierung. Sie tauchte unter, ihre Familie sah sie nie wieder. Vier Jahrzehnte nach Sallys Verschwinden fügt Tamara Dawit das Leben ihrer Tante Sally zusammen. Ihre Suche führt sie dazu, Vorstellungen von Zugehörigkeit, persönlichen Überzeugungen und politischen Idealen in Frage zu stellen, und das zu einer Zeit, in der Äthiopien erneut wichtige politische Veränderungen durchläuft.

Im Anschluss an das Screening diskutieren die Regisseurin Tamara Dawit, der Menschenrechtsexperte Fisseha Tekle (Amnesty International Ethiopia) und Ulf Terlinden (Heinrich-Böll-Stiftung Kenia) über den Film, seine Entstehungsgeschichte und die politischen Ereignisse in Äthiopien mit besonderem Blick auf die dortige Menschenrechtslage. Die Veranstaltung findet online unter calendar.boell.de/de/event/finding-sally statt.


Tamara Dawit ist eine Filmemacherin äthiopischer, britischer und ukrainischer Herkunft. Sie lebt und arbeitet in Äthiopien. Dawit produzierte unter anderem die Dokumentarfilme Forgotten Children (2007, EOne), Girls of Latitude (2008, MTV/CTV) und führte Regie bei Grandma Knows Best? (2014, Bravo).