Nasser (Egypt’s Modern Pharaohs)

SUN 22 NOV 19:00


Jihan El-Tahri
Egypt / South Africa / France 2015 | Original version with subtitles | 97 min



20:40 Q & A Jihan El-Tahri


On January 25, 1952, the inner city of Cairo burned to the ground, the mob demanded the withdrawal of British colonial rule and demanded “bread, freedom and social justice. 59 years later, in Tahir Square, on the very same day, the same rage was revealed and the same slogans were uttered. Was Egypt’s hope for true independence thwarted?

In EGYPT’S MODERN PHARAOHS the French-Egyptian director Jihan El-Tahri traces the political development of her home country Egypt since 1952. As the result of several years of archive work, El-Tahri dedicates her film to the three central figures of Egyptian politics: Gamal Abdel Nasser, Anwar As-Sadat and Hosni Mubarak. She explains why the structures laid down by President Nasser have remained intact over the decades and why the course set by successive power regimes for consolidated independence culminated in the 2011 revolution in Tahir Square.


The French-Egyptian director and producer Jihan El Tahri began her career as a foreign correspondent for Middle East politics and has produced documentaries for the BBC, PBS, Arte and other international broadcasters since 1990. Her documentary film Nasser (Egypt’s Modern Pharaoh) was part of the official selection at the Toronto International Film Festival 2017. El Tahri has produced and directed the renowned documentaries Behind the Rainbow, Cuba, an African Odyssey and House of Saud. In addition to being a member of the documentary section of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (AMPAS), she is a member of various associations and institutions working with African cinema, such as the Guild of African Filmmakers in the Diaspora, the Federation of Pan African Cinema (FEPACI), Focus Feature’s Africa first Program, and is a mentor at the Documentary Campus. Since March 2019, she has also been managing director of the NGO DoxBox.

EGYPT’S MODERN PHARAOHS

SO 22 NOV 19:00


Jihan El-Tahri
Ägypten / Südafrika / Frankreich 2015 I OmE | 97 min



20:40 Q & A Jihan El-Tahri


Am 25. Januar 1952 brannte die Innenstadt von Kairo bis auf die Grundmauern nieder, der Mob forderte den Abzug der britischen Kolonialherrschaft und forderte “Brot, Freiheit und soziale Gerechtigkeit” ein. 59 Jahre später, auf dem Tahir-Platz, genau am gleichen Tag, offenbart sich die gleiche Wut und die gleichen Parolen wurden geschwungen. Wurde die Hoffnung Ägyptens auf wahre Unabhängigkeit vereitelt?
In EGYPT´S MODERN PHARAOHS zeichnet die französisch-ägyptische Regisseurin Jihan El-Tahri die politische Entwicklung ihres Heimatlandes Ägypten seit 1952 nach. Als Ergebnis mehrjähriger Archivarbeit widmet El-Tahri ihren Film den drei zentralen Figuren ägyptischer Politik: Gamal Abdel Nasser, Anwar As-Sadat und Hosni Mubarak und erklärt, warum die von Präsident Nasser gelegten Strukturen über die Jahrzehnte intakt geblieben sind und Weichenstellungen der aufeinanderfolgenden Machtregime für eine gefestigte Unabhängigkeit in der Revolution 2011 auf dem Tahir-Platz mündete.


Die französisch-ägyptische Regisseurin und Produzentin Jihan El Tahri begann ihre Karriere als Auslandskorrespondentin für Nahostpolitik und hat seit 1990 Dokumentarfilme für BBC, PBS, Arte und andere internationale Sender produziert. Ihr Dokumentarfilm Nasser war Teil der offiziellen Auswahl beim Toronto International Film Festival 2017. El Tahri hat die renommierten Dokumentarfilme Behind the Rainbow, Cuba, an African Odyssey und House of Saud produziert und inszeniert. Sie ist nicht nur Mitglied der Dokumentarfilmsektion der Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (AMPAS), sondern auch in verschiedenen Verbänden und Institutionen, die mit dem afrikanischen Kino arbeiten, wie der Gilde der afrikanischen Filmemacher in der Diaspora (Guild of African Filmmakers in the Diaspora), der Federation of Pan African Cinema (FEPACI) sowie Focus Feature’s Africa first Program, und ist Mentorin am Documentary Campus. Seit März 2019 ist sie zudem Geschäftsführerin der NGO DoxBox.