DAYS OF CANNIBALISM

SAT 21 NOV 17:15


Teboho Edkins
South Africa / France / Netherlands 2020 | Original version with subtitles | 80 min



Q & A  Teboho Edkins


The South African director Tebeho Edkins explores the genres of cinema in his hybrid documentary films. With GANGSTER PROJECT (2011) and MY NAME IS SHERIFF NOW (2016), Edkins has already appeared twice in AFRIKAMERA’s program.
His current film DAYS OF CANNIBALISM is set in the sparsely populated eastern part of Lesotho in the Thaba-Tseka district. Globalization in the form of Chinese economic migrants has meanwhile also penetrated into the harsh hinterland of the enclave in the Republic of South Africa and challenges traditional value systems.
Edkins thereby portrays the parallel societies that have emerged – Chinese traders on the one hand, the Basotho, traditional cattle breeders, on the other, without falling into simple dualism. He thus succeeds in an impressive study of social power differentials and latent violence.


Teboho Edkins, born 1980 in Tennessee, USA, grew up in Lesotho and South Africa, and now lives in Cape Town and Berlin. He studied photography and visual arts at the Michaelis School of Fine Art in Cape Town and at Le Fresnoy in Tourcoing, France. He then attended the German Film and Television Academy in Berlin (DFFB). His films have been shown at over 400 festivals and in group and solo exhibitions, including at the Centre Pompidou, the Tate Modern and the House of World Cultures.

DAYS OF CANNIBALISM

SA 21 NOV 17:15


Teboho Edkins
Südafrika / Frankreich / Niederlande 2020 | OmE | 80 min



Q & A  Teboho Edkins


Der südafrikanische Regisseur Teboho Edkins lotet in seinen hybriden Dokumentarfilmen die Genres des Kinos aus. Mit GANGSTER PROJECT (2011) und MY NAME IS SHERIFF NOW (2016) war Edkins bereits zwei Mal im Programm von AFRIKAMERA vertreten.

Sein aktueller Film DAYS OF CANNIBALISM spielt im dünn besiedelten Osten Lesothos im Distrikt Thaba-Tseka. Die Globalisierung in Gestalt von chinesischen Wirtschaftsmigranten ist mittlerweile auch in das raue Hinterland der Enklave in der Republik Südafrika vorgedrungen und fordert traditionelle Wertesysteme heraus.

Edkins porträtiert dabei die entstandenen Parallelgesellschaften – chinesische Händler auf der einen Seite, die Basotho, traditionelle Viehzüchter, auf der anderen Seite, ohne in simplen Dualismus zu verfallen. Ihm gelingt so eine eindrückliche Studie über gesellschaftliche Machtgefälle und latente Gewalt.


Teboho Edkins, geboren 1980 in Tennessee, USA, aufgewachsen in Lesotho und Südfrika, lebt heute in Kapstadt und Berlin. Er studierte Fotografie und Bildende Kunst an der Michaelis School of Fine Art in Kapstadt und am Le Fresnoy im französischen Tourcoing. Anschließend besuchte er die Deutsche Film- und Fernsehakademie in Berlin (DFFB). Seine Filme wurden auf über 400 Festivals sowie im Rahmen von Gruppen- und Einzelausstellungen gezeigt, darunter im Centre Pompidou, in der Tate Modern und im Haus der Kulturen der Welt.