POPPIE NONGENA

SUN 22 NOV 21:30


Christiaan Olwagen
South Africa 2019 | Original version with subtitles | 106 min



Q & A Christiaan Olwagen


Cape Town at the time of apartheid, mid-1970s. Poppie Nongena works as a housekeeper for a rich white family. When her husband loses his job, an apartheid law takes effect to exclude the black majority population: Poppie is now considered an illegal in her own country and is to be forcibly resettled with her children into her husband’s homeland in northern South Africa. At the same time, when the student uprising in Soweto against the regime broke out in 1976, Poppie had to fear not only for her own life, but also for that of her son…

The film is based on the novel The long way of Poppie Nongena by the South African writer Elsa Joubert, a huge success with the public. Alone in South Africa, the book received four literary awards.
The film adaptation received a total of 12 awards at the Silwerskerm Festival 2020 in Camps Bay, including Best Film.


Christiaan Olwagen (*1987) is one of South Africa’s most active directors. He began his career in the theater and was awarded the Rosalie Van der Gucht and Standard Bank Young Artist Award as a director. With Poppie Nongena Olwagen realized his fourth feature film.

Nasser (Egypt’s Modern Pharaohs)

SUN 22 NOV 19:00


Jihan El-Tahri
Egypt / South Africa / France 2015 | Original version with subtitles | 97 min



20:40 Q & A Jihan El-Tahri


On January 25, 1952, the inner city of Cairo burned to the ground, the mob demanded the withdrawal of British colonial rule and demanded “bread, freedom and social justice. 59 years later, in Tahir Square, on the very same day, the same rage was revealed and the same slogans were uttered. Was Egypt’s hope for true independence thwarted?

In EGYPT’S MODERN PHARAOHS the French-Egyptian director Jihan El-Tahri traces the political development of her home country Egypt since 1952. As the result of several years of archive work, El-Tahri dedicates her film to the three central figures of Egyptian politics: Gamal Abdel Nasser, Anwar As-Sadat and Hosni Mubarak. She explains why the structures laid down by President Nasser have remained intact over the decades and why the course set by successive power regimes for consolidated independence culminated in the 2011 revolution in Tahir Square.


The French-Egyptian director and producer Jihan El Tahri began her career as a foreign correspondent for Middle East politics and has produced documentaries for the BBC, PBS, Arte and other international broadcasters since 1990. Her documentary film Nasser (Egypt’s Modern Pharaoh) was part of the official selection at the Toronto International Film Festival 2017. El Tahri has produced and directed the renowned documentaries Behind the Rainbow, Cuba, an African Odyssey and House of Saud. In addition to being a member of the documentary section of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (AMPAS), she is a member of various associations and institutions working with African cinema, such as the Guild of African Filmmakers in the Diaspora, the Federation of Pan African Cinema (FEPACI), Focus Feature’s Africa first Program, and is a mentor at the Documentary Campus. Since March 2019, she has also been managing director of the NGO DoxBox.

BEST OF AFRICAN SHORTS

SUN  22 NOV 17:30


Short film program
Algeria / Egypt / Kenya / Madagascar / South Africa / Canada 2017-19 /
75 min

In cooperation with the FESTIVAL CINÉMAS D’AFRIQUE LAUSANNE, AFRIKAMERA presents a selection of outstanding current short films from the African continent.


APOCALYPSE NOW NOW
Michael Matthews
South Africa / Canada 2017  | Original version with subtitles | 8 min



Baxter, a sixteen-year-old high school student, has built a thriving business in pornography that shows sex with fantastic creatures. And he is in love with the enchanting kleptomaniac Esmé. When she is kidnapped by an insane serial killer, things get out of hand. Soon Baxter is on a monster hunt with the run-down bounty hunter Ronin, who introduces him to the secrets of Cape Town’s fantastic underworld…. The 7-minute concept film APOCALYPSE NOW NOW is based on the urban fantasy novel of the same name by South African author Charlie Human. The production, which is managed by the production studios Redlab Digital and XYZ Films, is designed as a teaser for a planned long version of the film.


ZANAKA (Ainsi parlait Félix)
Lova Nantenaina
Madagascar 2019 | Original version with subtitles | 29 min




Q & A Lova Nantenaina


Like so many others, Felix Robson fought for Madagascar’s freedom during the March 29, 1947 uprising against the French colonial regime. Fortunately, the goal of killing all resistance fighters after the uprising was crushed could not be achieved by the French oppressors. Felix also survived and returned to Antananarivo around 1949, where he has since worked as a glazier, married, and had many children. Despite the injustice Felix had to suffer, he does not hold a grudge, but continues to look ahead with a critical spirit to criticize the neo-colonization of Madagascar, which even after independence continues today in the form of exploitation of the country through mining projects and agribusiness supported by Western companies. “If some people want to continue colonization, the Malagasy people must oppose it with a strong ‘no’ vote, regardless of who the colonists are,” said Felix.
With ZANAKA (AINSI PARLAIT FÉLIX) the Malagasy director Lova Nantenaina tells the story of the (neo)colonization of the country in the form of a moving biographical portrait.


MISFIT
Karanja Ng’endo
Kenya 2018 | Original version with subtitles | 5 min

“When color becomes a crisis. Too black to be white. Too white to be black.” In his poetic short film MISFIT, Kenyan filmmaker Karanja Ng’endo takes an experimental look at the effects of albinism and colorism in the black community.


ONCE UPON A TIME IN A CAFÉ
Noha Adel
Egypt 2019 | Original version with subtitles | 16 min

A hot summer in 2018, Bassem, a wealthy, respected university student and soccer madman, goes to a store in one of Cairo’s old slums to close a deal that coincides with the start of Egypt vs. Russia. He watches the game on a sports channel in a street café there, and the craziest of nights begins!


SYNAPSE
Noureddine Zerrouki
Algeria 2019 | OV | 17 min

In the short film SYNAPSE by Algerian director Noureddine Zerrouki, two men with different handicaps meet during a bus ride – one with a broken leg, the other blind. Two worlds meet, conflicts break out – and in the end a peaceful truth is revealed.

SARRAOUNIA

SUN 22 NOV 15:00

ALL films rented on November 22nd, 2020 can only be streamed until November 22nd, 2020 11:59 pm (CET). 


Med Hondo
Mauritania / Burkina Faso / France 1986 | Original version with subtitles | 120 min


On January 2, 1899, a column led by the French generals Voulet and Chanoine was sent out from French Sudan to fight the black Sultan Rabah in what is now southern Niger. The colonialists left a trail of destruction on their way south. While neighboring peoples either show no willingness to fight or even collaborate with colonialists, Sarrounia, the legendary Queen of the Azna, opposes the colonial terror mission…
Inspired by the novel of the same name by the Nigerian writer Abdoulaye Mamani, AFRIKAMERA is showing SARRAOUNIA, a classic by the French-Mauritanian filmmaker Med Hondo, who died in 2019.

The Battle of the Black Queen was presented at the 1986 FESPACO film festival, where it was enthusiastically received by the African audience and awarded with the main prize. In France, the film was shown in only five cinemas instead of 14, as originally agreed with the film distributor, and was withdrawn from the program after only two weeks. Several French artists and intellectuals, including the director Costa-Gavras, felt this was censorship because of the unwelcome subject matter and protested against it, but without success. In other countries, the film was only shown at festivals, including the Berlinale Forum in 1987. For Med Hondo, who was also the producer of the film, the lack of cinema revenues meant personal financial bankruptcy.


Med Hondo, Med Hondo, born in 1936 in Atar, Mauritania, emigrated to France in the late 1950s, where he founded a theater group in Paris and turned to film. In the mid-1960s he began shooting his first feature film Soleil Ô, which attracted international attention. In his subsequent films Hondo dealt with the history of the African continent and its diaspora. He died in Paris in 2019.

SOFTIE

SAT 21 NOV 21:30


Sam Soko
Kenya 2020 | Original version with subtitles | 96 min



Q & A Sam Soko


At the center of Sam Soko’s first documentary film is the political activist Boniface “Softie” Mwangi. After a long struggle as a political activist and photographer against the injustices in his native Kenya, he decides to run for parliament in 2017 in a regional election in his old Starehe district in Nairobi. Shot over a period of five years under adverse conditions in a political climate marked by street protests against corruption, police brutality and extrajudicial killings, the film accompanies Softie in his attempts to lead a clean campaign against his corrupt opponents. A story about politics, family and what it means to be Kenyan.

SOFTIE celebrated its premiere at the Sundance Festival 2020 where it was awarded with a World Cinema Documentary Special Jury Award.


Sam Soko made a name for himself primarily as a screenwriter and director of music videos before turning to documentary film. Soko is co-founder of Lightbox Africa, a film production company based in Nairobi. As a filmmaker he works mainly with political activists in Sudan and Zimbabwe as well as international artists such as Aloe Blacc. SOFTIE is his feature film debut.

AFTER YOUR REVOLT, YOUR VOTE! APRÈS TA RÉVOLTE, TON VOTE

SAT 21 NOV 19:30


Parfait Kaboré
Burkina Faso / France 2019 | Original version with subtitles | 90 min



Q & A Parfait Kaboré


After a popular uprising in October 2014, Burkina Faso committed itself to a historic vote: the first change of government through democratic elections. The movement “Le Balai Citoyen” (the broom of the citizens), founded by the musicians Smockey and SamsK le Jah, is the driving force behind the uprisings and at the same time a protest symbol to clean the country’s streets from corruption. The documentary by Kiswendsida Parfait Kaboré accompanies the movement in building a new political system.


Kiswendsida Parfait Kaboré, born in 1984 in Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso, completed a master’s degree in documentary film in Saint Louis, Senegal. He produced documentary short films, including Demain l’Afrique and A Double Tranchant, which were shot during the summer school of La Fémis. With Place à la revolution, which was awarded the Grand Jury Prize at the “Festival du film documentaire de Saint-Louis du Sénégal”, his first feature-length documentary film initiates a trilogy about political and social changes in Burkina Faso. Après ta révolte, ton vote is the second chapter of this trilogy, which will be released in November 2019 celebrated its world premiere at the IDFA.

DAYS OF CANNIBALISM

SAT 21 NOV 17:15


Teboho Edkins
South Africa / France / Netherlands 2020 | Original version with subtitles | 80 min



Q & A  Teboho Edkins


The South African director Tebeho Edkins explores the genres of cinema in his hybrid documentary films. With GANGSTER PROJECT (2011) and MY NAME IS SHERIFF NOW (2016), Edkins has already appeared twice in AFRIKAMERA’s program.
His current film DAYS OF CANNIBALISM is set in the sparsely populated eastern part of Lesotho in the Thaba-Tseka district. Globalization in the form of Chinese economic migrants has meanwhile also penetrated into the harsh hinterland of the enclave in the Republic of South Africa and challenges traditional value systems.
Edkins thereby portrays the parallel societies that have emerged – Chinese traders on the one hand, the Basotho, traditional cattle breeders, on the other, without falling into simple dualism. He thus succeeds in an impressive study of social power differentials and latent violence.


Teboho Edkins, born 1980 in Tennessee, USA, grew up in Lesotho and South Africa, and now lives in Cape Town and Berlin. He studied photography and visual arts at the Michaelis School of Fine Art in Cape Town and at Le Fresnoy in Tourcoing, France. He then attended the German Film and Television Academy in Berlin (DFFB). His films have been shown at over 400 festivals and in group and solo exhibitions, including at the Centre Pompidou, the Tate Modern and the House of World Cultures.

REVOLUTIONARY SHORTS

SAT 21 NOV 15.00


Short film program
DR Congo / Senegal / France / Sahrawi Arab Democratic Republic 2018-19 | Original version with subtitles | 85 min

The program REVOLUTIONARY SHORTS presents a selection of outstanding short films on this year’s festival focus.



Q & A Nelson Makengo (E’ville ) & Laurence Attali (Tabaski)


INVISIBLES (KAUNAPAWA)
Joel Haikali
Namibia 2019 | OV | 16 min

In INVISIBLES (KAUNAPAWA) by Joel Haikali, a couple embarks on a journey through the Namibian outback to reflect on themselves and their place in post-apartheid society.


E’ville
Nelson Makengo
Demokratische Republik Kongo 2018 | OmE | 10 min

E’VILLE stands for Elisabethville, as the Congolese metropolis Lubumbashi was called by the Belgian colonial masters until 1966. Nelson Makengo takes the audience* on an introspective journey through the abandoned ruins of a mine belonging to the state-owned mining company Gécamines, accompanied by the words from one of Patrice Lumumba’s last letters to his wife Pauline, which he had written shortly before his murder in E’ville. A journey into the collective
memory of the country.


TABASKI
Laurence Attali
Senegal / Frankreich | 2019 I OmE | 26 min

SYNOPSIS
Dakar, a few days before the feast of Tabaski, a painter is shut away in his studio, working on the theme of the ritual sacrifice of the ram. The red paint drips from the sketches hanging on clotheslines. An inscription on the wall: “Tabaski, who’s next?”. Three characters and a sheep revolve around him and reconnect him with reality.

DIRECTOR’S STATEMENT :
Blending fiction, art and politics, this movie is freely inspired by the major work of the painter Iba Ndiaye (1928-2008) “The Tabaski round, who’s next?”, painting between the 1960s and 1980s. A sort of allegory in which the sheep is presented as the symbol of all victims. Indeed, Iba Ndiaye was not thinking directly about the sacrifice of sheep for Tabaski in Senegal, but rather of the victims of colonization, segregation, and apartheid.

“Painting is remembering,” he said.


TOUFA
Brahim Chagaf
Demokratische Arabische Republik Sahara 2019 | OmE I 30 min

In the mid-1970s, when Spanish troops left the Western Sahara, the Saharauis were at a crossroads. The impressive short film TOUFA by Brahim Chagaf reflects the fate of the people, who have been denied an independent nation state until today, from three different perspectives.


JOURNÉE NOIRE
Yoro Mbaye
Senegal 2019 | OmE | 13 min

In JOURNÉE NOIRE, the current short film by Senegalese director Yoro Mbaye, 23-year-old Ngor, a brilliant law student, joins his comrades at the front – and is killed by police bullets.

AIR CONDITIONER

FRI 20 NOV 21.00


Fradique
Angola 2020 | OV (English) | 72 min



Q & A Fradique & Ery Claver


The first feature-length film by Angolan director and producer Mário Bastos a.k.a. Fradique is a surreal trip through the Angolan metropolis of Luanda. For no apparent reason, the air conditioners attached to the facades fall out of their anchors en masse, killing people in the open street. The government is at a loss. Matacedo, a security guard, sets off at his boss’s behest to have his air conditioning system repaired. On the way he meets the maid Zezinha and ends up in an electrical store run by an enigmatic man named Mr. Mino…

Carried by the jazz soundtrack of the Angolan musician Aline Frazão, AIR CONDITIONER was critically acclaimed at its premiere at the Rotterdam Film Festival 2020. Produced by the Angolan collective Geração 80’s, the film is an expression of the power of young independent Angolan auteur cinema.
Co-author and cameraman Ery Claver was already a guest at AFRIKAMERA last year with his short film LÚCIA NO CÉU COM SEMÁFOROS.


Fradique is considered one of the most talented and expressive voices in contemporary Angolan cinema.
He completed his film studies in the USA and is one of the founders of the production company Geração 80. Among the few films he has directed are the short film Alambamento (2010) and the documentary Independence (2015). The film has been shown at several international film festivals and won the Angolan National Prize for Culture and Arts for the film section. He has also directed art house music videos for Angolan artists such as Nástio Mosquito and Aline Frazão. Fradique is a Berlinale Talent Alumnus and a former graduate of the Realness Screenwriting Residency.
He is currently working on his next feature film The Kingdom of Casuarinas which is scheduled for release in 2022.

FAHAVALO, MADAGASCAR 1947

FRI 20 NOV 18.30


Marie-Clémence Andriamonta-Paes
Madagascar / France 2018 | Original version with subtitles | 91 min



Q & A Marie-Clémence Andriamonta-Paes


The so-called “Madagascar Uprising” (Insurrection malgache) against the French colonial occupation is still a central event in Madagascar’s collective memory, which celebrates the 60th anniversary of its independence this year. After Charles de Gaulle had broken his promise to release the island state into independence in gratitude for the support of the Allies, an uprising broke out in March 1947.
The documentary FAHAVALO, MADAGASCAR 1947 traces the background with the help of archive material and eyewitness accounts. The guerilla fight of the local “Fahavalo” (“enemies of France”), who fought against the French occupiers armed only with spears and talismans, could only be put down in December 1948.

FAHAVALO, MADAGASCAR 1947 received a special mention at the JCC Carthage Film Festival in Tunisia and was awarded with the “Documentaries of the world award” at the 42nd World Film Festival in Montréal / Canada.


Marie-Clémence Andriamonta-Paes was born and raised in Madagascar. She founded the production company Laterit together with Cesar Paes in 1988.
Her projects include Angano… angano… Tales from Madagascar (1989), Songs and Tears of Nature (1992), Saudade do Futuro (2001), Mahaleo (2005), An opera from the Indian Ocean (2012), Ady Gasy (2015) and Songs for Madagascar (2016). Fahavalo is her first work as a director.

POPPIE NONGENA

SO 22 NOV 21:30


Christiaan Olwagen
Südafrika 2019 | OmE | 106 min



Q & A Christiaan Olwagen


Kapstadt zur Zeit der Apartheid, Mitte der 70er-Jahre. Poppie Nongena arbeitet als Haushälterin für eine reiche weiße Familie. Als ihr Mann seinen Job verliert, greift ein Apartheidgesetz zur Ausgrenzung der schwarzen Mehrheitsbevölkerung: Poppie gilt nun als Illegale in ihrem eigenen Land und soll mit ihren Kindern in das Homeland ihres Mannes im Norden Südafrikas zwangsumgesiedelt werden. Als zeitgleich 1976 der Schüleraufstand in Soweto gegen das Regime losbricht, muss Poppie nicht nur um ihr eigenes Leben, sondern auch um das ihres Sohnes bangen…
Der Film beruht auf dem Roman Der lange Weg der Poppie Nongena der südafrikanischen Schriftstellerin Elsa Joubert, einem großen Publikumserfolg. Allein in Südafrika erhielt das Buch vier Literaturpreise.
Die Verfilmung wurde beim Silwerskerm Festival 2020 in Camps Bay mit insgesamt 12 Awards ausgezeichnet, darunter auch als bester Film.


Christiaan Olwagen (*1987) ist einer der aktivsten Regisseure Südafrikas. Er begann seine Karriere am Theater und wurde als Regisseur mit Rosalie Van der Gucht und Standard Bank Young Artist Award ausgezeichnet. Mit Poppie Nongena realisierte Olwagen seinen vierten Spielfilm.

EGYPT’S MODERN PHARAOHS

SO 22 NOV 19:00


Jihan El-Tahri
Ägypten / Südafrika / Frankreich 2015 I OmE | 97 min



20:40 Q & A Jihan El-Tahri


Am 25. Januar 1952 brannte die Innenstadt von Kairo bis auf die Grundmauern nieder, der Mob forderte den Abzug der britischen Kolonialherrschaft und forderte “Brot, Freiheit und soziale Gerechtigkeit” ein. 59 Jahre später, auf dem Tahir-Platz, genau am gleichen Tag, offenbart sich die gleiche Wut und die gleichen Parolen wurden geschwungen. Wurde die Hoffnung Ägyptens auf wahre Unabhängigkeit vereitelt?
In EGYPT´S MODERN PHARAOHS zeichnet die französisch-ägyptische Regisseurin Jihan El-Tahri die politische Entwicklung ihres Heimatlandes Ägypten seit 1952 nach. Als Ergebnis mehrjähriger Archivarbeit widmet El-Tahri ihren Film den drei zentralen Figuren ägyptischer Politik: Gamal Abdel Nasser, Anwar As-Sadat und Hosni Mubarak und erklärt, warum die von Präsident Nasser gelegten Strukturen über die Jahrzehnte intakt geblieben sind und Weichenstellungen der aufeinanderfolgenden Machtregime für eine gefestigte Unabhängigkeit in der Revolution 2011 auf dem Tahir-Platz mündete.


Die französisch-ägyptische Regisseurin und Produzentin Jihan El Tahri begann ihre Karriere als Auslandskorrespondentin für Nahostpolitik und hat seit 1990 Dokumentarfilme für BBC, PBS, Arte und andere internationale Sender produziert. Ihr Dokumentarfilm Nasser war Teil der offiziellen Auswahl beim Toronto International Film Festival 2017. El Tahri hat die renommierten Dokumentarfilme Behind the Rainbow, Cuba, an African Odyssey und House of Saud produziert und inszeniert. Sie ist nicht nur Mitglied der Dokumentarfilmsektion der Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (AMPAS), sondern auch in verschiedenen Verbänden und Institutionen, die mit dem afrikanischen Kino arbeiten, wie der Gilde der afrikanischen Filmemacher in der Diaspora (Guild of African Filmmakers in the Diaspora), der Federation of Pan African Cinema (FEPACI) sowie Focus Feature’s Africa first Program, und ist Mentorin am Documentary Campus. Seit März 2019 ist sie zudem Geschäftsführerin der NGO DoxBox.

 

BEST OF AFRICAN SHORTS

SO 22 NOV 17:30


Kurzfilmprogramm
Algerien / Ägypten / Kenia / Madagaskar / Südafrika / Kanada 2017-19 /
75 min

In Kooperation mit dem FESTIVAL CINÉMAS D’AFRIQUE LAUSANNE präsentiert AFRIKAMERA eine Auswahl herausragender aktueller Kurzfilme vom afrikanischen Kontinent.


APOCALYPSE NOW NOW
Michael Matthews
Südafrika / Kanada 2017 | OmE | 8 min



Der sechzehnjährige Schüler Baxter hat an seiner Highschool einen florierenden Handel mit Pornos aufgebaut, die Sex mit fantastischen Wesen zeigen. Und er ist verliebt in die zauberhafte Kleptomanin Esmé. Als sie von einem wahnsinnigen Serienmörder entführt wird, laufen die Dinge aus dem Ruder. Bald befindet sich Baxter auf Monsterjagd mit dem heruntergekommenen Kopfgeldjäger Ronin, der ihn in die Geheimnisse der fantastischen Unterwelt Kapstadts einweiht…. Der 7-minütige Konzeptfilm APOCALYPSE NOW NOW basiert auf dem gleichnamigen Urban Fantasy-Roman des südafrikanischen Autors Charlie Human. Die von den Produktionsstudios Redlab Digital und XYZ Films verantwortete Produktion ist als Teaser für eine geplante Langfassung des Films konzipiert.


ZANAKA (Ainsi parlait Félix)
Lova Nantenaina
Madagaskar 2019 | OmE | 29 min




Q & A Lova Nantenaina


Wie so viele andere kämpfte Felix Robson während des Aufstands vom 29. März 1947 gegen das französische Kolonialregime für die Freiheit Madagaskars. Das Ziel, nach der Niederschlagung des Aufstands alle Widerstandskämpfer zu töten, konnten die französischen Unterdrücker glücklicherweise nicht erreichen. Auch Felix überlebte und kehrte um 1949 nach Antananarivo zurück, wo er seitdem als Glaser arbeitete, heiratete und viele Kinder bekam. Trotz des Unrechts, das Felix erleiden musste, hegt er keinen Groll, sondern blickt mit kritischem Geist weiter nach vorne, um die Neokolonialisierung Madagaskars zu kritisieren, die auch nach der Unabhängigkeit bis heute in Form von Ausbeutung des Landes durch von westlichen Unternehmen getragene Bergbauprojekte und Agribusiness fortbesteht. „Wenn einige die Kolonialisierung fortsetzen wollen, müssen sich die Madagassen mit einem starken Nein dagegenstellen, unabhängig davon, wer die Kolonisten sind”, so Felix.
Mit ZANAKA (Ainsi parlait Félix) erzählt der madagassische Regisseur Lova Nantenaina die Geschichte der (Neo)kolonialisierung des Landes in Form eines bewegenden biographischen Porträts.


MISFIT
Karanja Ng’endo
Kenia 2018 | OmE | 5 min

„Wenn Farbe zu einer Krise wird. Zu schwarz, um weiß zu sein. Zu weiß, um schwarz zu sein.“ In seinem poetischen Kurzfilm MISFIT wirft der kenianische Filmemacher Karanja Ng’endo einen experimentellen Blick auf die Auswirkungen von Albinismus und Kolorismus in der schwarzen Community.


ONCE UPON A TIME IN A CAFÉ
Noha Adel
Ägypten 2019 | OmE | 16 min

Ein heißer Sommer im Jahr 2018. Bassem, ein wohlhabender, angesehener Universitätsstudent und Fußballverrückter begibt sich in einen Laden in einem der alten Slums von Kairo, um ein Geschäft abschließen, das mit dem Beginn des Spiels Ägypten gegen Russland bei der Weltmeisterschaft zusammenfällt, das er auf keinen Fall verpassen darf. Er schaut sich das Spiel auf einem Sportkanal in einem dortigen Straßencafé an, und die verrückteste aller Nächte beginnt!


SYNAPSE
Noureddine Zerrouki
Algerien 2019 | OV | 17 min

In dem Kurzfilm SYNAPSE des algerischen Regisseurs Noureddine Zerrouki treffen zwei Männer mit unterschiedlichen Handicaps während einer Busfahrt aufeinander – der eine mit gebrochenem Bein, der andere blind. Zwei Welten treffen aufeinander, Konflikte brechen los – und am Ende enthüllt sich eine friedliche Wahrheit.

SARRAOUNIA

SO 22 NOV 15:00

ALLE am 22.11.2020 gemieteten Filme sind nur bis zum 22.11.2020 23:59Uhr (MEZ) abrufbar. 


Med Hondo
Mauretanien / Burkina Faso / Frankreich 1986 | OmE | 120 min


Am 2. Januar 1899 wird ausgehend vom französischen Sudan eine Kolonne unter Führung der französischen Generäle Voulet und Chanoine gegen den schwarzen Sultan Rabah im heutigen Süden Nigers geschickt. Die Kolonialisten hinterlassen eine Spur der Zerstörung auf ihrem Weg nach Süden. Während angrenzende Völker entweder keine Kampfbereitschaft zeigen oder gar mit Kolonialisten kollaborieren, stellt sich Sarraounia, die sagenumwobene Königin der Azna, der kolonialen Terrormission entgegen…

Inspiriert vom gleichnamigen Roman des nigrischen Schriftstellers Abdoulaye Mamani, zeigt AFRIKAMERA mit SARRAOUNIA einen Klassiker des 2019 verstorbenen französisch-mauretanischen Filmemachers Med Hondo.
Der Kampf der schwarzen Königin wurde 1986 beim Filmfestival FESPACO präsentiert, wo er vom afrikanischen Publikum begeistert aufgenommen und mit dem Hauptpreis auszeichnet wurde. In Frankreich lief der Film statt in 14 Kinos, wie ursprünglich mit dem Filmverleih vereinbart, nur in fünf Kinos an und wurde bereits nach zwei Wochen aus dem Programm genommen. Mehrere französische Künstler*innen und Intellektuelle, darunter der Regisseur Costa-Gavras, empfanden dies als Zensur aufgrund des unliebsamen Themas und protestierten dagegen, jedoch ohne Erfolg. In anderen Ländern war der Film nur bei Festivals zu sehen, darunter im Rahmen des Berlinale Forums 1987. Für Med Hondo, der auch Produzent des Films war, bedeuteten die ausbleibenden Kinoeinnahmen den persönlichen finanziellen Bankrott.


Med Hondo, geboren 1936 in Atar, Mauretanien, emigrierte Ende der 1950er-Jahre nach Frankreich, wo er in Paris eine Theatergruppe gründete und sich dem Film zuwandte. Mitte der 1960er-Jahre begann er mit den Dreharbeiten zu seinem ersten Spielfilm Soleil Ô, der international Aufmerksamkeit erregte. In seinen darauffolgenden Filmen thematisierte Hondo die Geschichte des afrikanischen Kontinents und dessen Diaspora. Er starb 2019 in Paris.

SOFTIE

SA 21 NOV 21:30


Sam Soko
Kenia 2020 | OmE | 96 min



Q & A Sam Soko


Im Zentrum des ersten Dokumentarfilms von Sam Soko steht der politische Aktivist Boniface „Softie“ Mwangi. Nach langem Kampf als politischer Aktivist und Fotograf gegen die Ungerechtigkeiten in seiner Heimat Kenia beschließt er 2017 bei einer regionalen Wahl in seinem alten Stadtviertel Starehe in Nairobi für das Parlament zu kandidieren. Gedreht über einen Zeitraum von fünf Jahren unter widrigen Umständen in einem politischen Klima, das von Straßenprotesten gegen Korruption, Polizeibrutalität und außergerichtlichen Tötungen geprägt war, begleitet der Film Softie bei den Versuchen, eine saubere Kampagne gegen seine korrupten Gegner zu führen. Eine Geschichte über Politik, Familie und was es bedeutet, Kenianer zu sein.

SOFTIE feierte seine Premiere beim Sundance Festival 2020 und wurde dort mit einem World Cinema Documentary Special Jury Award ausgezeichnet.


Sam Soko machte sich vor allem als Drehbuchautor und Regisseur von Musikvideos einen Namen, bevor er sich dem Dokumentarfilm zuwendete. Soko ist Mitbegründer von Lightbox Africa, einer Filmproduktionsfirma mit Sitz in Nairobi. Als Filmemacher arbeitet er schwerpunktmäßig mit politischen Aktivist*innen in Sudan und Simbabwe sowie internationalen Künstler*innen wie Aloe Blacc zusammen. SOFTIE ist sein Langfilmdebüt.

AFTER YOUR REVOLT, YOUR VOTE! APRÈS TA RÉVOLTE, TON VOTE

SA 21 NOV 19:30


Parfait Kaboré
Burkina Faso / Frankreich 2019 | OmE | 90 min



Q & A Parfait Kaboré


Nach einem Volksaufstand im Oktober 2014 verpflichtete sich Burkina Faso zu einer historischen Abstimmung: dem ersten Regierungswechsel durch demokratische Wahlen. Die Bewegung „Le Balai Citoyen“ (der Besen der Bürger), ins Leben gerufen von den Musikern Smockey und SamsK le Jah, ist die treibende Kraft hinter den Aufständen und zugleich ein Protestsymbol, mit dem die Straßen des Landes von Korruption gesäubert werden sollen. Die Dokumentation von Kiswendsida Parfait Kaboré begleitet die Bewegung beim Aufbau eines neuen politischen Systems.


Kiswendsida Parfait Kaboré, geboren 1984 in Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso, absolvierte in Saint Louis, Senegal einen Master-Abschluss in Dokumentarfilm. Er produzierte dokumentarische Kurzfilme, darunter Demain l’Afrique und A Double Tranchant, die während der Sommerschule von La Fémis gedreht wurden. Mit Place à la revolution, der unter anderem beim “Festival du film documentaire de Saint-Louis du Sénégal” mit dem Großen Preis der Jury ausgezeichnet wurde, initiiert sein erster abendfüllender Dokumentarfilm eine Trilogie über politische und soziale Veränderungen in Burkina Faso. Après ta révolte, ton vote ist das zweite Kapitel dieser Trilogie, die im November 2019 bei der IDFA ihre Weltpremiere feierte.

DAYS OF CANNIBALISM

SA 21 NOV 17:15


Teboho Edkins
Südafrika / Frankreich / Niederlande 2020 | OmE | 80 min



Q & A  Teboho Edkins


Der südafrikanische Regisseur Teboho Edkins lotet in seinen hybriden Dokumentarfilmen die Genres des Kinos aus. Mit GANGSTER PROJECT (2011) und MY NAME IS SHERIFF NOW (2016) war Edkins bereits zwei Mal im Programm von AFRIKAMERA vertreten.

Sein aktueller Film DAYS OF CANNIBALISM spielt im dünn besiedelten Osten Lesothos im Distrikt Thaba-Tseka. Die Globalisierung in Gestalt von chinesischen Wirtschaftsmigranten ist mittlerweile auch in das raue Hinterland der Enklave in der Republik Südafrika vorgedrungen und fordert traditionelle Wertesysteme heraus.

Edkins porträtiert dabei die entstandenen Parallelgesellschaften – chinesische Händler auf der einen Seite, die Basotho, traditionelle Viehzüchter, auf der anderen Seite, ohne in simplen Dualismus zu verfallen. Ihm gelingt so eine eindrückliche Studie über gesellschaftliche Machtgefälle und latente Gewalt.


Teboho Edkins, geboren 1980 in Tennessee, USA, aufgewachsen in Lesotho und Südfrika, lebt heute in Kapstadt und Berlin. Er studierte Fotografie und Bildende Kunst an der Michaelis School of Fine Art in Kapstadt und am Le Fresnoy im französischen Tourcoing. Anschließend besuchte er die Deutsche Film- und Fernsehakademie in Berlin (DFFB). Seine Filme wurden auf über 400 Festivals sowie im Rahmen von Gruppen- und Einzelausstellungen gezeigt, darunter im Centre Pompidou, in der Tate Modern und im Haus der Kulturen der Welt.

REVOLUTIONARY SHORTS

SA 21 NOV 15.00


Kurzfilmprogramm
Namibia / DR Kongo / Senegal / Frankreich / Demokratische Arabische Republik Sahara 2018-19 | OmE | 85 min

Das Programm REVOLUTIONARY SHORTS präsentiert eine Auswahl herausragender Kurzfilme zum diesjährigen Festivalschwerpunkt.



Q & A Nelson Makengo (E’ville ) & Laurence Attali (Tabaski)


INVISIBLES (KAUNAPAWA)
Joel Haikali
Namibia 2019 | OV | 16 min

In INVISIBLES (KAUNAPAWA) von Joel Haikali macht sich ein Paar auf eine Reise durch das namibische Outback, um über sich selbst und seinen Platz in der Post-Apartheid-Gesellschaft zu reflektieren.


E’VILLE
Nelson Makengo
Demokratische Republik Kongo 2018 | OmE | 10 min

E’VILLE steht für Elisabethville, wie die kongolesische Metropole Lubumbashi bis 1966 von den belgischen Kolonialherren genannt wurde. Nelson Makengo nimmt die Zuschauer*innen mit auf eine introspektive Reise durch die verlassenen Ruinen einer Minenanlage der staatlichen Bergbaufirma Gécamines, begleitet von den Worten aus einem der letzten Briefe von Patrice Lumumba an seine Frau Pauline, den er kurz vor seiner Ermordung in E‘ville geschrieben hatte. Eine Reise in das kollektive Gedächtnis des Landes.


TABASKI
Laurence Attali
Senegal / Frankreich | 2019 I OmE | 26 min

Dakar. Wenige Tage vor Tabaski arbeitet ein Maler, in seinem Atelier eingeschlossen, am Thema des rituellen Opfers des Widders. Rote Farbe tropft von den Skizzen, die an Wäscheleinen hängen. Eine Inschrift an der Wand: “Tabaski, wer ist an der Reihe?” Drei Charaktere und ein Schaf umkreisen ihn und verbinden ihn wieder mit der Realität.

HINWEIS: Dieser Film verbindet Fiktion, Kunst und Politik und ist frei inspiriert von dem Werk des Malers Iba Ndiaye (1928-2008) mit dem Titel „La Ronde de Tabaski, à qui le tour?“, welches er zwischen den 1960er und 1980er Jahren realisierte. Eine Art Allegorie, in der das Schaf als Symbol aller Opfer dargestellt wird. In der Tat dachte Iba Ndiaye nicht direkt an das Opfer von Schafen für Tabaski im Senegal, sondern an die Opfer von Kolonialisierung, Segregation und Apartheid. „Malen ist Erinnern“, sagte er.


TOUFA
Brahim Chagaf
Demokratische Arabische Republik Sahara 2019 | OmE I 30 min

Mitte der 70er-Jahre, als die spanischen Truppen die Westsahara verlassen, stehen die Saharauis am Scheideweg. Der eindrückliche Kurzfilm TOUFA von Brahim Chagaf reflektiert das Schicksal des Volkes, dem ein unabhängiger Nationalstaat bis heute verwehrt geblieben ist, aus drei unterschiedlichen Perspektiven.


JOURNÉE NOIRE
Yoro Mbaye
Senegal 2019 | OmE | 13 min

In JOURNÉE NOIRE, dem aktuellen Kurzfilm des senegalesischen Regisseurs Yoro Mbaye, schließt sich der 23-jährige Ngor, ein brillanter Jurastudent, seinen Kameraden an der Front an – und wird durch Polizeigeschosse getötet.

AIR CONDITIONER

FR 20 NOV 21.00


Fradique
Angola 2020 | OV (Englisch) | 72 min



Q & A mit Fradique & Ery Claver


Der erste abendfüllende Spielfilm des angolanischen Regisseurs und Produzenten Mário Bastos a.k.a. Fradique ist ein surrealer Trip durch die angolanische Metropole Luanda. Ohne erkennbaren Grund fallen die an den Fassaden befestigten Klimaanlagen massenhaft aus ihren Verankerungen und erschlagen Menschen auf offener Straße. Die Regierung ist ratlos. Der Security Guard Matacedo macht sich auf Geheiß seines Bosses auf den Weg, um dessen Klimaanlage reparieren zu lassen. Unterwegs trifft er auf das Hausmädchen Zezinha und landet in einem Elektrogeschäft, das von einem enigmatischen Mann namens Mr. Mino geführt wird…

Getragen vom Jazz-Soundtrack der angolanischen Musikerin Aline Frazão, wurde AIR CONDITIONER bei seiner Uraufführung beim Filmfestival in Rotterdam 2020 von der Kritik gefeiert. Realisiert von dem angolanischen Kollektiv Geração 80’s ist der Film Ausdruck für die Kraft des jungen unabhängigen angolanischen Autorenkinos.
Co-Autor und Kameramann Ery Claver war bereits im vergangenen Jahr bei AFRIKAMERA mit seinem Kurzfilm LÚCIA NO CÉU COM SEMÁFOROS zu Gast.


Fradique gilt als eine der talentiertesten und ausdrucksstärksten Stimmen des zeitgenössischen angolanischen Kinos.
Er absolvierte sein Filmstudium in den USA und ist einer der Gründer der Produktionsfirma Geração 80. Zu den wenigen Filmen, bei denen er Regie führte, gehören der Kurzfilm Alambamento (2010) und der Dokumentarfilm Independence (2015). Der Film wurde auf mehreren internationalen Filmfestivals gezeigt und gewann den Angolan National Prize for Culture and Arts für den Bereich Film. Darüber hinaus führte er Regie bei Arthouse-Musikvideos für angolanische Künstler wie Nástio Mosquito und Aline Frazão. Fradique ist Berlinale-Talent Alumnus und ehemaliger Absolvent der Realness Screenwriting Residency.
Aktuell arbeitet er an seinem nächsten Spielfilm The Kingdom of Casuarinas, der im Jahr 2022 realisiert werden soll.

FAHAVALO, MADAGASCAR 1947

FR 20 NOV 18.30


Marie-Clémence Andriamonta-Paes
Madagaskar / Frankreich 2018 | OmE | 91 min



Q & A mit Marie-Clémence Andriamonta-Paes


Der sogenannte „Madagaskar-Aufstand“ (Insurrection malgache) gegen die französische Kolonialbesatzung bildet bis heute ein zentrales Ereignis im kollektiven Gedächtnis Madagaskars, das in diesem Jahr den 60. Jahrestag seiner Unabhängigkeit begeht. Nachdem Charles de Gaulle sein Versprechen gebrochen hatte, den Inselstaat als Dank für die Unterstützung der Alliierten in die Unabhängigkeit zu entlassen, brach im März 1947 ein Aufstand los.
Die Dokumentation FAHAVALO, MADAGASCAR 1947 zeichnet mit Hilfe von Archivmaterial und Zeitzeugenberichten die Hintergründe nach. Der Guerillakampf der lokalen „Fahavalo“ („Feinde Frankreichs“), die nur mit Speeren und Talismanen bewaffnet gegen die französischen Besatzer kämpften, konnte erst im Dezember 1948 niedergeschlagen werden.

FAHAVALO, MADAGASCAR 1947 erhielt eine Special mention beim JCC Carthage Film Festival in Tunesien und wurde mit dem “Documentaries of the world award“ beim 42. World Film Festival in Montréal / Canada ausgezeichnet.


Marie-Clémence Andriamonta-Paes ist in Madagaskar geboren und aufgewachsen. Sie gründete 1988 zusammen mit Cesar Paes die Produktionsfirma Laterit.
Zu ihren Projekten gehören Angano… angano… Tales from Madagascar (1989), Songs and Tears of Nature (1992), Saudade do Futuro (2001), Mahaleo (2005), An opera from the Indian Ocean (2012), Ady Gasy (2015) und Songs for Madagascar (2016). Fahavalo ist ihre erste Arbeit als Regisseurin.