BETWEEN GOD AND I

SA 9 NOV 16.30


BETWEEN GOD AND I
YARA COSTA
MOZAMBIQUE 2018 I DCP I OME I 60 MIN


On the historically multicultural Ilha de Moçambique, deep-rooted traditions of the country long existed in peaceful coexistence with religions such as Christianity and a moderate Islam. But religious intolerance and fundamentalism are increasingly endangering living together.

Director Yara Costa illustrates this with the example of the young Muslim Karen, who, although growing up in the tradition of moderate Macua Islam, has become an apologist for the pure teaching of Wahhabi Islam. Costa’s impressive documentation provides intimate insights into the life of the protagonist, which is characterized by doubts and contradictions regarding her identity.


The Mozambican filmmaker YARA COSTA worked as a journalist in Brazil, among other places, before receiving a scholarship for the New York University’s News & Graduate Program in 2009. In 2011 she made her debut WHY ARE THEY HERE? CHINESE STORIES IN AFRICA, followed by THE CROSSING, a short film about the tensions between the islands of Haiti and the Dominican Republic. BETWEEN GOD AND I is her third movie.

BETWEEN GOD AND I

SA 9 NOV 16.30


BETWEEN GOD AND I
YARA COSTA
MOSAMBIK 2018 I DCP I OME I 60 MIN


Auf der historisch multikulturellen Ilha de Moçambique existierten tief verwurzelte Traditionen des Landes lange in friedlicher Koexistenz mit Religionen wie dem Christentum und einem moderaten Islam. Aber inzwischen gefährden religiöse Intoleranz und Fundamentalismus zunehmend das Zusammenleben.

Die Regisseurin Yara Costa illustriert dies am Beispiel der jungen Muslimin Karen, die sich, obgleich aufgewachsen in der Tradition des gemäßigten Macua-Islam, zu einer Apologetin der reinen Lehre des wahabitischen Islam gewandelt hat. Costas eindrückliche Dokumentation gewährt dabei intime Einblicke in das Leben der Protagonistin, das geprägt ist von Zweifeln und Widersprüchen bezüglich ihrer Identität.


Die mosambikanische Filmemacherin YARA COSTA arbeitete unter anderem als Journalistin in Brasilien, ehe sie 2009 ein Stipendium für das News & Graduate Programm an der New York University erhielt. 2011 realisierte sie ihr Debüt WHY ARE THEY HERE? CHINESE STORIES IN AFRICA, gefolgt von THE CROSSING, ein Kurzfilm über Spannungen zwischen den Inseln Haiti und der Dominikanischen Republik. BETWEEN GOD AND I ist ihr dritter Film.