BEST OF AFRICAN SHORTS

SUN  22 NOV 17:30


Short film program
Algeria / Egypt / Kenya / Madagascar / South Africa / Canada 2017-19 /
75 min

In cooperation with the FESTIVAL CINÉMAS D’AFRIQUE LAUSANNE, AFRIKAMERA presents a selection of outstanding current short films from the African continent.


APOCALYPSE NOW NOW
Michael Matthews
South Africa / Canada 2017  | Original version with subtitles | 8 min



Baxter, a sixteen-year-old high school student, has built a thriving business in pornography that shows sex with fantastic creatures. And he is in love with the enchanting kleptomaniac Esmé. When she is kidnapped by an insane serial killer, things get out of hand. Soon Baxter is on a monster hunt with the run-down bounty hunter Ronin, who introduces him to the secrets of Cape Town’s fantastic underworld…. The 7-minute concept film APOCALYPSE NOW NOW is based on the urban fantasy novel of the same name by South African author Charlie Human. The production, which is managed by the production studios Redlab Digital and XYZ Films, is designed as a teaser for a planned long version of the film.


ZANAKA (Ainsi parlait Félix)
Lova Nantenaina
Madagascar 2019 | Original version with subtitles | 29 min




Q & A Lova Nantenaina


Like so many others, Felix Robson fought for Madagascar’s freedom during the March 29, 1947 uprising against the French colonial regime. Fortunately, the goal of killing all resistance fighters after the uprising was crushed could not be achieved by the French oppressors. Felix also survived and returned to Antananarivo around 1949, where he has since worked as a glazier, married, and had many children. Despite the injustice Felix had to suffer, he does not hold a grudge, but continues to look ahead with a critical spirit to criticize the neo-colonization of Madagascar, which even after independence continues today in the form of exploitation of the country through mining projects and agribusiness supported by Western companies. “If some people want to continue colonization, the Malagasy people must oppose it with a strong ‘no’ vote, regardless of who the colonists are,” said Felix.
With ZANAKA (AINSI PARLAIT FÉLIX) the Malagasy director Lova Nantenaina tells the story of the (neo)colonization of the country in the form of a moving biographical portrait.


MISFIT
Karanja Ng’endo
Kenya 2018 | Original version with subtitles | 5 min

“When color becomes a crisis. Too black to be white. Too white to be black.” In his poetic short film MISFIT, Kenyan filmmaker Karanja Ng’endo takes an experimental look at the effects of albinism and colorism in the black community.


ONCE UPON A TIME IN A CAFÉ
Noha Adel
Egypt 2019 | Original version with subtitles | 16 min

A hot summer in 2018, Bassem, a wealthy, respected university student and soccer madman, goes to a store in one of Cairo’s old slums to close a deal that coincides with the start of Egypt vs. Russia. He watches the game on a sports channel in a street café there, and the craziest of nights begins!


SYNAPSE
Noureddine Zerrouki
Algeria 2019 | OV | 17 min

In the short film SYNAPSE by Algerian director Noureddine Zerrouki, two men with different handicaps meet during a bus ride – one with a broken leg, the other blind. Two worlds meet, conflicts break out – and in the end a peaceful truth is revealed.

BEST OF AFRICAN SHORTS

SO 22 NOV 17:30


Kurzfilmprogramm
Algerien / Ägypten / Kenia / Madagaskar / Südafrika / Kanada 2017-19 /
75 min

In Kooperation mit dem FESTIVAL CINÉMAS D’AFRIQUE LAUSANNE präsentiert AFRIKAMERA eine Auswahl herausragender aktueller Kurzfilme vom afrikanischen Kontinent.


APOCALYPSE NOW NOW
Michael Matthews
Südafrika / Kanada 2017 | OmE | 8 min



Der sechzehnjährige Schüler Baxter hat an seiner Highschool einen florierenden Handel mit Pornos aufgebaut, die Sex mit fantastischen Wesen zeigen. Und er ist verliebt in die zauberhafte Kleptomanin Esmé. Als sie von einem wahnsinnigen Serienmörder entführt wird, laufen die Dinge aus dem Ruder. Bald befindet sich Baxter auf Monsterjagd mit dem heruntergekommenen Kopfgeldjäger Ronin, der ihn in die Geheimnisse der fantastischen Unterwelt Kapstadts einweiht…. Der 7-minütige Konzeptfilm APOCALYPSE NOW NOW basiert auf dem gleichnamigen Urban Fantasy-Roman des südafrikanischen Autors Charlie Human. Die von den Produktionsstudios Redlab Digital und XYZ Films verantwortete Produktion ist als Teaser für eine geplante Langfassung des Films konzipiert.


ZANAKA (Ainsi parlait Félix)
Lova Nantenaina
Madagaskar 2019 | OmE | 29 min




Q & A Lova Nantenaina


Wie so viele andere kämpfte Felix Robson während des Aufstands vom 29. März 1947 gegen das französische Kolonialregime für die Freiheit Madagaskars. Das Ziel, nach der Niederschlagung des Aufstands alle Widerstandskämpfer zu töten, konnten die französischen Unterdrücker glücklicherweise nicht erreichen. Auch Felix überlebte und kehrte um 1949 nach Antananarivo zurück, wo er seitdem als Glaser arbeitete, heiratete und viele Kinder bekam. Trotz des Unrechts, das Felix erleiden musste, hegt er keinen Groll, sondern blickt mit kritischem Geist weiter nach vorne, um die Neokolonialisierung Madagaskars zu kritisieren, die auch nach der Unabhängigkeit bis heute in Form von Ausbeutung des Landes durch von westlichen Unternehmen getragene Bergbauprojekte und Agribusiness fortbesteht. „Wenn einige die Kolonialisierung fortsetzen wollen, müssen sich die Madagassen mit einem starken Nein dagegenstellen, unabhängig davon, wer die Kolonisten sind”, so Felix.
Mit ZANAKA (Ainsi parlait Félix) erzählt der madagassische Regisseur Lova Nantenaina die Geschichte der (Neo)kolonialisierung des Landes in Form eines bewegenden biographischen Porträts.


MISFIT
Karanja Ng’endo
Kenia 2018 | OmE | 5 min

„Wenn Farbe zu einer Krise wird. Zu schwarz, um weiß zu sein. Zu weiß, um schwarz zu sein.“ In seinem poetischen Kurzfilm MISFIT wirft der kenianische Filmemacher Karanja Ng’endo einen experimentellen Blick auf die Auswirkungen von Albinismus und Kolorismus in der schwarzen Community.


ONCE UPON A TIME IN A CAFÉ
Noha Adel
Ägypten 2019 | OmE | 16 min

Ein heißer Sommer im Jahr 2018. Bassem, ein wohlhabender, angesehener Universitätsstudent und Fußballverrückter begibt sich in einen Laden in einem der alten Slums von Kairo, um ein Geschäft abschließen, das mit dem Beginn des Spiels Ägypten gegen Russland bei der Weltmeisterschaft zusammenfällt, das er auf keinen Fall verpassen darf. Er schaut sich das Spiel auf einem Sportkanal in einem dortigen Straßencafé an, und die verrückteste aller Nächte beginnt!


SYNAPSE
Noureddine Zerrouki
Algerien 2019 | OV | 17 min

In dem Kurzfilm SYNAPSE des algerischen Regisseurs Noureddine Zerrouki treffen zwei Männer mit unterschiedlichen Handicaps während einer Busfahrt aufeinander – der eine mit gebrochenem Bein, der andere blind. Zwei Welten treffen aufeinander, Konflikte brechen los – und am Ende enthüllt sich eine friedliche Wahrheit.