BAAMUN NAFI – NAFI’S FATHER

MON 11 NOV 20.30


BAAMUN NAFI – NAFI’S FATHER
MAMADOU DIA
SENEGAL 2019 I DIGITAL FILE I OME I 109 MIN
GERMANY PREMIERE
IN THE PRESENCE OF THE MAIN ACTOR ALASSANE SY


The drama, celebrated at the Locarno Film Festival, tells the story of two brothers’ arguments about the imminent wedding of their children. While young Nafi and her cousin Tokala wish to marry and make plans for the future of moving to Dakar, their father, a local religious leader, strongly opposes them because his brother Ousmane is a follower of a fundamentalist Islamic sect. The main actor of the film Alassane Sy is present for the German premiere.


MAMADOU DIA, born in Senegal, studied art at the Tisch School of Arts at New York University. His short film SAMEDI CINEMA came 2016 in the official selection of the film festivals of Venice and Toronto. BAAMUN NAFI was awarded the Golden Leopard at the Locarno Film Festival in 2019.


ALASSANE SY is a Mauritanian actor and director. After spending time in Paris and New York, where he began a successful modeling career, he met photographer and director Andrew Dosunmu, who cast him in 2011 as the lead role in his feature film RESTLESS CITY. It was followed by MEDITERRANEA – REFUGEES WELCOME? (Director: Jonas Carpignano), who was nominated for the Critics Choice Awards in Cannes. With his first directorial work MARABOUT, he visited AFRIKAMERA in 2017.

BAAMUN NAFI – NAFI´S  FATHER

Mo 11 NOV 20.30


BAAMUN NAFI – NAFI´S  FATHER
MAMADOU DIA
SENEGAL 2019 I DIGITAL FILE I OME I 109 MIN  
DEUTSCHLAND-PREMIERE
IN ANWESENHEIT DES HAUPTDARSTELLERS ALASSANE SY


Das beim Filmfestival von Locarno gefeierte Drama erzählt von der Auseinandersetzung zweier Brüder über die bevorstehende Hochzeit ihrer Kinder. Während sich die junge Nafi und ihr Cousin Tokala die Hochzeit wünschen und Zukunftspläne für einen Umzug nach Dakar schmieden, ist ihr Vater, ein lokaler religiöser Führer, strikt dagegen – denn sein Bruder Ousmane ist Anhänger einer fundamentalistischen islamischen Sekte. Der Hauptdarsteller des Films Alassane Sy ist zur Deutschland-Premiere anwesend.


MAMADOU DIA, geboren in Senegal, studierte Kunst an der Tisch School of Arts an der New York University. Sein Kurzfilm SAMEDI CINEMA kam 2016 in die offizielle Auswahl der Filmfestivals von Venedig und Toronto. BAAMUN NAFI wurde beim Locarno Filmfestival 2019 mit dem Goldenen Leoparden ausgezeichnet.


ALASSANE SY ist ein mauretanischer Schauspieler und Regisseur. Nach Aufenthalten in Paris und New York, wo er eine erfolgreiche Karriere als Model begann, lernte er den Fotografen und Regisseur Andrew Dosunmu kennen, der ihn 2011 mit der Hauptrolle für seinen Spielfilm RESTLESS CITY besetzte. Es folgte MEDITERRANEA – REFUGEES WELCOME? (Regie: Jonas Carpignano), der für die Critics Choice Awards in Cannes nominiert wurde. Mit seiner ersten Regiearbeit MARABOUT war er 2017 bei AFRIKAMERA zu Gast.