Afrikamera 2021: Urban Africa, Urban Movies – Africa in VR

17 NOV — 21 NOV
HUMBOLDT FORUM
Afrikamera 2021: Urban Africa, Urban Movies – Africa in VR
During the opening hours of the house: Admission free

 

In collaboration with the South African non-profit incubator Electric South, Afrikamera 2021: Urban Africa, Urban Movies will present a total of five VR productions that deal with life in the metropolises of Nairobi, Accra, Lagos, Dakar and Johannesburg in very different artistic ways. At the intersection of film, visual art, fashion and gaming, expanded forms of cinematographic experience are thus made possible.

 

Lagos at Large
Jumoke Sanwo / Nigeria, South Africa 2019 / 11 min

Where does the real Lagos begin and where does it end? Lagos from 5.20 p.m. to 10 p.m.
Guided by the words of spoken word artist Njideka Iroh, director Jumoke Sanwo’s camera moves through various urban spaces of the mega-metropolis on foot, by bus, by car, past marketplaces, public monuments, places of leisure. In this way, a narrative unfolds that addresses issues of class division, international development, economic policy, and the differences between those who have returned from the diaspora and those who have never left Lagos – a foray through the imaginary as well as the material space of Lagos in which autobiographical and critical engagement intermingle.

Nairobi Berries
Ng’endo Mukii / Kenya 2018 / 7:51 min

“Nairobi, | love you most”. With her VR work “Nairobi Berries”, director and photographer Ng’endo Mukii from Kenya presents a poetic exploration of her hometown Nairobi in expressive, surreal images between real film and animation – carried by her voice, poetry meets VR art in this production.

The other Dakar
Selly Raby Kane / Senegal 2017 / 7:35 min

D Senegalese fashion designer Selly Raby Kane presents a fascinating 360° work in which a little girl is chosen to discover the invisible Dakar. Senegalese mythology meets fashion designs that have already inspired artists* such as Beyoncé, Nai Palm (Hiatus Kaiyote) and DaaraJ.

Spirit Robot
Jonathan Dotse / Ghana 2017 / 8:34 min

The VR work of the science fiction author and founder of the website Afrocyberpunk Jonathan Dotse from Ghana gives insight into the Chale Wote Street Art Festival with images and quotes from participating artists*, which has been taking place in the Ghanaian capital Accra since 2011 and aims to give the local urban art scene visibility in public space. The festival defines itself as a space for collaboration and social development.

Here
Shelley Berry / South Africa 2019 / 10:13 min

In front of the Johannesburg-Hillbrow skyline, various artists* with disabilities perform their vision of inclusion and empowerment in post-apartheid South Africa.
The VR production by multi-award-winning South African director Shelley Berry, who is herself in a wheelchair after an assault, celebrated its world premiere at the 2019 National Arts Festival in Grahamstown, South Africa.
With English sign language interpretation.

Admission to the VR Lounge is free, with limited use of individual VR stations.
There may be waiting times.

Curation: Urban Africa, Urban Movies – Africa in VR / Florian Wachinger

 

 

Freda

SUN 21 NOV
20.30 ARSENAL
TICKETS

by Gessica Généus
Benin, Haiti, France | 2021 | 99 min | OV with Engl. Subs
German premiere

 

AFRIKAMERA closes with a production from the African diaspora. Freda lives with her family in a popular neighborhood in increasingly troubled Port-au-Prince. She worries about her education and the future of her crumbling homeland. Freda, her materialistic brother Moïse, and her younger sister Esther make ends meet by working alongside their devout evangelical mother Jeanette in the small store in their home. Amid the growing chaos, each of the siblings pursues their own idea of happiness. One by one, they are given the chance to leave dangerous Port-au-Prince behind. But Freda wants to stay, while at the same time fighting at school against the progressive erasure of Haitian culture by white influences.

The impressive family drama, at the same time a political film against patriarchal oppression in Haiti, celebrated its premiere at this year’s Cannes Film Festival in the series “Un certain regard”.

Gessica Généus is an actress, singer and director from Haiti. She began her career when she was 17 years old. After the earthquake in 2010, she became actively involved in the reconstruction of her country and she started working for the United Nations. She then won a scholarship to study at Acting International in Paris. She returned to Haiti and created her own production company, Ayizian Productions, to develop her own work. Between 2014 and 2016 she directed “Vizaj Nou”, a series of short portraits of major figures from contemporary Haitian society. In 2017, her documentary film “Douvan jou ka leve” (The Day Will Dawn) won seven awards. It continues to be shown around the world. FREDA is her first feature film.

 

Oliver Black

SUN 21 NOV
18.30 ARSENAL
TICKETS

by Tawfik Baba
Morocco | 2020 | 93 min | OV with Engl. Subs

 

The feature film debut of Moroccan director Tawfik Baba tells the story of young Vendredi, who crosses the desert alone to realize his dream of working for a circus in Morocco. On the way, he meets “White Man”, an old man, on his way to his granddaughter’s wedding. They develop a special relationship and help each other in several life-threatening situations. At that point, however, Vendredi has no idea that he has fallen in with a human trafficker…

Tawfik Baba is a filmmaker living in Ouarzazate, Morocco. His studies included French literature at university and then directing and screenwriting at the French art and media school STUDIO M in Casablanca. He loved writing as a teenager and tried to write poems, short stories and philosophical essays. When he lived in Ouarzazate, he worked in many different departments in shooting films such as “Rules of Engagement”, “Cleopatra”, “Babel”. In 2013 and 2014, as a screenwriter, he received the Moroccan Film Center Promotion Award for one short film each, and subsequently directed five more short films. In 2017, he wrote and directed his first indie feature film: OLIVER BLACK.

 

The Disqualified

Le Disqualifié

SUN 21 NOV
16.00h ARSENAL
TICKETS

by Hamza Ouni
Tunisia, Qatar, France | 2020 | 114 min | OV with Engl. Subs

 

In his long-term documentary made over a period of twelve years, Tunisian director Hamza Ouni follows the eccentric Mehrez in his hometown of El Mohammedia. At the age of 25, Mehrez decides to enlighten and challenge a community of unemployed, frustrated youth with the means of theater. With heart and soul, as well as all the financial resources at his disposal, he throws himself into teaching and his troupe begins to flourish. Suddenly, however, Mehrez finds himself in prison, and his plans are on the verge of collapse …

THE DISQUALIFIED lets the audience* participate in the contradictory life of a gifted dancer and actor who struggles daily with himself and the contradictions of his country.

Director Hamza Ouni.
Director Hamza Ouni.

Hamza Ouni, Tunisian filmmaker, born in 1975 in El Mohammedia, where he still lives today. After a first cycle of film studies at the North African Film Institute, he continued his education at the School of Arts and Cinema in Tunis, where he specialized in screenwriting. He then participated in a series of workshops on screenwriting. “El Gort,” his first feature-length documentary, which was screened as a world premiere at the Abu Dhabi Film Festival, received the Best Filmmaker Award in the Arab World and an International Criticism Award from the International Federation of the Film Press (FIPRESCI). He also received the 2014 Talent Dove at the DOK Festival in Leipzig and the Bronze Tanit
in Carthage.

 

Petit Jo, Enfant des Rues

Petit Jo

SUN 21 NOV
16.00 HUMBOLDT FORUM
Youthmovie
TICKETS

by Daniel Kamwa | South Africa, Cameroon | 2019 | 118 min | OV with German Subs
with an educational program by Rebecca Pokua Korang
in the presence of Daniel Kamwa

 

“Petit Jo, Enfant des Rues” tells the story of a mixed-race boy in Cameroon who, despite a few strokes of fate, refuses to be diverted from his path.
When Father Moussima finds an abandoned infant in the corridor of the hospital in Bonabéri, his decision is immediately clear: he wants to take care of the boy as a single father. No matter what the neighbors say – he masters the challenges of being a parent with calm and bravura and officially adopts Jo despite all the bureaucratic hurdles. At 12, Moussima sends him to a Lutheran boarding school. When Jo’s foster father dies and he wants to transfer to middle school, he is finally caught up with the past – his birth certificate is missing …

Daniel Kamwa’s film adaptation of the book of the same name by Evelyne Mpoudi Ngollé shows the realities of life for children and young people who, due to the circumstances into which they were born, have to take uncertain and risky paths in life and are left to their own devices, and at the same time the necessity of community in these realities. Kamwa opens up the question of morality, the complexity of good and evil in terms of survival, and highlights the cultural as well as socio-political context of Cameroon.

An interactive contextualization of Cameroon will introduce the film screening. The two-hour film will be shown with an intermission. During the intermission, director Daniel Kamwa will be asked questions about the film, which will serve as reference points for the young audience to continue watching the film. There will be a Q&A after the screening.

The screening will be moderated by Rebecca Pokua Korang. She has been working with AFRIKAMERA since 2017. Rebecca is a performative artist, empowerment trainer and works in mobile youth work in Berlin. Her artistic research focuses on identity, migration and German colonial history in Ghana.

 

Born in Cameroon, Daniel Kamwa has been in the film business for almost 45 years. After his acting training at the Cours Simon, he was a member of Peter Brook’s theater research group for two years. He then began acting in theater, film and television productions while attending film school at the University of Paris VIII. In 1972-73 he made his first short film “Boubou-Tie” with Marpessa Dawn, the leading actress of “Orfeu Negro” (Palme d’Or at Cannes in 1959 and Oscar for Best Foreign Film in 1960) as his partner. “Pousse-Pousse”, his first feature film, was released in 1975 and became a great commercial success. Producer, writer, director and actor, he is also a dubbing artist in French. He lent his voice to the main characters in “Live and Let Die” – “The Ghost and the Darkness” – “Gorillas in the Mist”, among others, and not to forget he dubbed Morgan Freeman in the role of President Nelson Mandela in” Invictus “by Clint Eastwood

 

Cairo Jazzman – The Groove of a Megacity

Cairo Jazzman

SAT 20 NOV
22.00 ARSENAL
TICKETS

by Atef Ben Bouzid
Germany | 2017 | 82 min | OV with Engl. Subs
In the presence of Atef Ben Bouzid – Q+A

 

At the center of Atef Ben Bouzid’s documentary is the charismatic Egyptian pianist Amr Salah. With few resources but all the more dedication, he has been organizing the Cairo Jazz Festival since 2009. The film, set to shimmering jazz sounds, provides rare insights behind the scenes of the festival and at the same time offers an unusual view of the Egyptian megacity Cairo and a young generation that longs for a cultural and political awakening and advocates for liberality and openness.

Atef Ben Bouzid, a German journalist, director and producer living in Berlin, has worked for national and international media, specializing in sports, music and society. He is particularly interested in the many aspects of human interaction and communication across cultures and countries. Most recently, Atef Ben Bouzid directed and produced the documentary CAIRO JAZZMAN and celebrated its world premiere at the International Film Festival Rotterdam in 2017.
Most recently, CAIRO JAZZMAN won the Audience Award at the Jazz Film Festival Copenhagen in 2020.

 

La nuit des Rois

SAT 20 NOV
20.00 ARSENAL
TICKETS

by Philippe Lacôte
Ivory Coast, Senegal, France, Canada | 2020 | 93 min | OV with Engl. Subs

 

La Maca (“Maison d’Arrêt et de Correction d’Abidjan”), the prison of Abidjan, located in the middle of the forest on the outskirts of the city, is one of the most overcrowded in West Africa. One of the inmates, the aging and ailing prisoner Blackbeard is an increasingly controversial “dangoro.” To maintain his power, he resumes the tradition of the “novel,” a ritual that consists of forcing a prisoner to tell stories throughout the night.

In a griot role, the young street criminal Zama must tell a story by sunrise if he wants to save his life and prevent the prison from descending into chaos. He chooses the story of notorious gang leader Zama King … In a fascinating way, oscillating between griot story and fantasy tale, this visually stunning epic from the Ivory Coast was submitted as an entry for the 2021 Academy Awards in the Best International Film cate-gory and was one of 15 films shortlisted by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.

Director Philippe Lacôte
Director Philippe Lacôte

Philippe Lacôte grew up in Abidjan near a cinema – the Magic. His work as a director had taken various forms before he made his debut in 2002 with “Chronicles of War in
the Ivory Coast,” a film on the border between documentary and diary, he focused on his country’s recent history. This was followed by the feature film “Run”, the story of a wandering madman, which was selected in Cannes 2014 at ‘Un certain regard’. This selection confirmed his talent as a filmmaker and showed a new voice of the African continent. “La Nuit des Rois / Night of the Kings” his second feature film, is a dive into the largest prison in West Africa during a red moon night.

 

The Letter

THE LETTER

SAT 20 NOV
18.00 ARSENAL
TICKETS

by Maia Lekow & Christopher King
Kenya | 2019 | 81 min | OV with Engl. Subs

 

Nearly 100 years old, Margaret Kamango is a gentle, ironic woman – and is threatened with death. When a Facebook message is leaked to her grandson Karisa, who lives in Mombasa, accusing his grandmother of witchcraft, he decides to return to his home village to get to the bottom of it. During the research, it comes to light that his grandmother is not the only one branded as a witch … Without prejudice, the two directors Maia Lekow and Christopher King deal with the phenomenon of witchcraft in today’s Kenya and draw a portrait of a society undergoing radical change.

Recommended for young people 14 years and older.

Maia Lekow is a Kenyan filmmaker and musician. Since founding Circle and Square Productions in 2009, Maia has worked as a director, producer and sound engineer for various film and music projects. She has performed on stages around the world and continues to compose music for films. She received an African Movie Academy Award for her song Uko Wapi and was named an ambassador for UNHCR on World Refugee Day 2013.

Chris King is an award-winning filmmaker based in Nairobi, Kenya. Born in Australia, he studied at the University of Melbourne’s School of Creative Arts before moving to Kenya in 2007, where he worked as a cinematographer, editor, animator, director and producer on short films, feature films (fiction and nonfiction) and music videos. In 2009, Chris co-founded Circle and Square Productions with his wife Maia, and in the same year received an African Movie Academy Award in the editing category for his work on the Kenyan feature film From a Whisper. THE LETTER is Maia and Chris’ first documentary film.

 

Buddha in Africa

SAT 20 NOV
16.00 ARSENAL
TICKETS

by Nicole Schafer
South Africa, Sweden | 2019 | 90 min | OV with Engl. Subs

Ennock is one of three hundred orphans from rural Malawi who have been placed in a Buddhist Chinese orphanage. The children and teenagers here must speak Mandarin, maintain Buddhist traditions, and are trained to master the difficult art of Shaolin Kung Fu.
The documentary by South African director Nicole Schafer offers intense insights into the lives of the children caught between the conflicting worlds of traditional village life and the strict discipline of the Chinese Confucian-Buddhist value system. Against the backdrop of China’s growing influence on the continent, Schafer’s film poses highly topical questions about education as indoctrination and about the right balance between seizing educational opportunities and surrendering one’s identity.

 

Director Nicole Schafer
Director Nicole Schafer

South African director Nicole Schafer (b. 1980) developed BUDDHA IN AFRICA over years of work. Nicole has lived in Malawi, where she produced award-winning stories for the pan-African Reuters magazine ‘Africa Journal’. Her other productions include South Africa’s leading investigative program ‘Carte Blanche’, Lonely Planet TV’s ‘Six Degrees’ and ‘Sport Traveller’. Nicole is the director of Thinking Strings Media, a production company based in the Midlands of KwaZulu-Natal. She holds an MFA degree in Film and Television Production from the Uni-versity of Cape Town. Her graduation film, “The Ballad of Rosalind Ballingall,” was screened at the 2006 Frijbourg Film Festival.

Afrikamera 2021: Urban Africa, Urban Movies – Africa in VR

17 NOV — 21 NOV
HUMBOLDT FORUM
Afrikamera 2021: Urban Africa, Urban Movies – Africa in VR
während der Öffnungszeiten des Hauses, Eintritt frei

 

In Zusammenarbeit mit dem südafrikanischen Non-Profit Inkubator Electric South werden im Rahmen von Afrikamera 2021: Urban Africa, Urban Movies insgesamt fünf VR-Produktionen präsentiert, die sich auf sehr unterschiedliche künstlerische Art und Weise mit dem Leben in den Metropolen Nairobi, Accra, Lagos, Dakar und Johannesburg auseinandersetzen.
An der Schnittstelle zwischen Film, bildender Kunst, Fashion und Gaming werden so erweiterte Formen cinematografischer Erfahrung möglich.

 

Lagos at Large
Jumoke Sanwo / Nigeria, Südafrika 2019 / 11 min

Wo beginnt das reale Lagos und wo endet es? Lagos von 5.20 p.m. bis 10 p.m.
Geleitet von den Worten der Spoken Word-Künstlerin Njideka Iroh bewegt sich die Kamera von Regisseurin Jumoke Sanwo zu Fuß, mit Bussen, mit dem Auto durch verschiedene Stadträume der Megametropole, vorbei an Marktplätzen, öffentlichen Denkmälern, Orten der Freizeitgestaltung. So entfaltet sich eine Erzählung, die sich mit Fragen der Klassenspaltung, der internationalen Entwicklung, der Wirtschaftspolitik und den Unterschieden zwischen denen, die aus der Diaspora zurückgekehrt sind, und denen, die Lagos niemals verlassen haben, auseinandersetzt – ein Streifzug durch den imaginären wie auch den materiellen Raum von Lagos, in dem sich autobiografisches und kritisches Engagement vermischen.

Nairobi Berries
Ng’endo Mukii / Kenia 2018 / 7.51 min

„Nairobi, | love you most“. Die Regisseurin und Fotografin Ng’endo Mukii aus Kenia präsentiert mit ihrer VR-Arbeit „Nairobi Berries“ in ausdruckstarken, surrealen Bildern zwischen Realfilm und Animation eine poetische Auseinandersetzung mit ihrer Heimatstadt Nairobi – getragen von ihrer Stimme, trifft in dieser Produktion Poetry auf VR-Kunst.

The other Dakar
Selly Raby Kane / Senegal 2017 / 7:35 min

Die senegalesische Modedesignerin Selly Raby Kane zeigt eine faszinierende 360° Arbeit, in der ein kleines Mädchen auserwählt wird, das unsichtbare Dakar zu entdecken. Senegalesische Mythologie trifft auf Fashionentwürfe, von denen sich bereits Künstler*innen wie Beyoncé, Nai Palm (Hiatus Kaiyote) und DaaraJ haben inspirieren lassen.

Spirit Robot
Jonathan Dotse / Ghana 2017 / 8.34 min

Die VR-Arbeit des Science Fiction-Autors und Gründers der Website Afrocyberpunk Jonathan Dotse aus Ghana gibt mit Bildern und Quotes von beteiligten Künstler*innen Einblick in das Chale Wote Street Art Festival, das seit 2011 in der ghanaischen Hauptstadt Accra stattfindet und der lokalen urbanen Kunstszene eine Sichtbarkeit im Öffentlichen Raum geben möchte. Dabei definiert sich das Festival als Möglichkeitsraum für Kollaboration und gesellschaftliche Weiterentwicklung.

Here
Shelley Berry / Südafrika 2019 / 10.13 min

Vor der Skyline von Johannesburg-Hillbrow performen verschiedene Künstler*innen mit Behinderung ihre Vision von Inklusion und Empowerment im Post-Apartheid-Südafrika.
Die VR-Produktion der nach einem Überfall selbst im Rollstuhl sitzenden, mehrfach preisgekrönten südafrikanischen Regisseurin Shelley Berry feierte ihre Weltpremiere beim National Arts Festival 2019 in Grahamstown, South Africa.
Mit englischer Gebärdensprachdolmetschung.

Der Eintritt zur VR-Lounge ist frei, die Nutzung der einzelnen VR-Stationen limitiert.
Es kann zu Wartezeiten kommen.

Kuration: Urban Africa, Urban Movies – Africa in VR / Florian Wachinger

 

 

Freda

SO 21 NOV
20.30 ARSENAL
TICKETS

von Gessica Généus
Benin, Haiti, Frankreich | 2021 | 99 min | OmE
Deutschlandpremiere

 

AFRIKAMERA schließt mit einer Produktion aus der afrikanischen Diaspora.
Freda lebt mit ihrer Familie in einer populären Gegend im zunehmend unruhigen Port-au-Prince. Sie sorgt sich um ihre Ausbildung und die Zukunft ihres zerfallenden Heimatlandes. Freda, ihr materialistischer Bruder Moïse und ihre jüngere Schwester Esther kommen über die Runden, indem sie zusammen mit ihrer strenggläubigen evangelikalen Mutter Jeanette in dem kleinen Ladengeschäft in ihrem Haus arbeiten. Inmitten des wachsenden Chaos verfolgt jedes der Geschwister seine eigene Vorstellung von Glück. Einer nach dem anderen erhält die Chance, das gefährliche Port-au-Prince hinter sich zu lassen. Doch Freda will bleiben und kämpft zugleich in der Schule gegen die fortschreitende Auslöschung der haitianischen Kultur durch weiße Einflüsse.

Das beeindruckende Familiendrama, zugleich ein politischer Film gegen die patriarchalische Unterdrückung in Haiti, feierte seine Premiere beim diesjährigen Filmfestival in Cannes in der Reihe „Un certain regard“.

Gessica Généus ist Schauspielerin, Sängerin und Regisseurin aus Haiti. Sie begann ihre Karriere mit 17 Jahren. Nach dem schweren Erdbeben in Haiti im Jahr 2010 engagierte sie sich aktiv für den Wiederaufbau ihres Landes und begann, für die Vereinten Nationen zu arbeiten. Dann erhielt sie ein Stipendium für ein Studium an der Acting International in Paris. Nach ihrer Rückkehr nach Haiti gründete sie ihre eigene Produktionsfirma, Ayizian Productions. Zwischen 2014 und 2016 führte Gessica Regie bei „Vizaj Nou“, einer Serie von Kurzporträts über wichtige Persönlichkeiten der haitianischen Gesellschaft der Gegenwart. Ihr Dokumentarfilm „Douvan jou ka leve“ (The Day Will Dawn, 2017) wurde mehrfach ausgezeichnet und wird weiterhin weltweit gezeigt. FREDA ist ihr erster Spielfilm.

 

Oliver Black

SO 21 NOV
18.30 ARSENAL
TICKETS

von Tawfik Baba
Marokko | 2020 | 93 min | OmE

 

Das Spielfilmdebüt des marokkanischen Regisseurs Tawfik Baba erzählt die Geschichte von dem jungen Vendredi, der alleine die Wüste durchquert, um in Marokko seinen Traum zu verwirklichen, für einen Zirkus zu arbeiten. Unterwegs trifft er auf „White Man“, einen alten Mann, auf dem Weg zur Hochzeit seiner Enkeltochter. Sie entwickeln eine besondere Beziehung und helfen einander in mehreren lebensbedrohlichen Situationen. Da ahnt Vendredi allerdings noch nicht, dass er an einen Menschenhändler geraten ist…

Tawfik Baba ist Filmemacher und lebt in Ouarzazate, Marokko. Er studierte u.a. französische Literatur an der Universität und anschließend Regie und Drehbuchschreiben an der französischen Kunst- und Medienschule STUDIO M in Casablanca. Schon als Teenager liebte er das Schreiben und versuchte, Gedichte, Kurzgeschichten und philosophische Essays zu verfassen. Als er in Ouarzazate lebte, arbeitete er in vielen verschiedenen Abteilungen bei Dreharbeiten zu Filmen wie „Rules of Engagement“, „Cleopatra“, „Babel“. Im Jahr 2013 und 2014 erhielt er als Drehbuchautor für je einen Kurzfilm den Förderpreis des marokkanischen Filmzentrums, im Anschluss inszenierte er fünf weitere Kurzfilme. 2017 schrieb und drehte er seinen ersten Indie-Spielfilm: OLIVER BLACK.

 

The Disqualified

Le Disqualifié

SO 21 NOV
16.00h ARSENAL
TICKETS

von Hamza Ouni
Tunesien, Katar, Frankreich | 2020 | 114 min | OmE

 

In seiner über einen Zeitraum von 12 Jahren entstandenen Langzeitdokumentation begleitet der tunesische Regisseur Hamza Ouni den Exzentriker Mehrez in seiner Heimatstadt El Mohammedia. Im Alter von 25 Jahren beschließt Mehrez, eine Gemeinschaft arbeitsloser, frustrierter Jugendlicher mit den Mitteln des Theaters aufzuklären und herauszufordern. Mit Herz und Seele sowie allen finanziellen Mitteln, die ihm zur Verfügung stehen, stürzt er sich in den Unterricht und seine Truppe beginnt zu blühen. Doch plötzlich kommt Mehrez ins Gefängnis, und seine Pläne stehen vor dem Scheitern…

THE DISQUALIFIED lässt die Zuschauer*innen am widersprüchlichen Leben eines begnadeten Tänzers und Schauspielers teilhaben, der täglich mit sich selbst und den Widersprüchen seines Landes zu kämpfen hat.

Director Hamza Ouni.
Director Hamza Ouni.

Hamza Ouni, tunesischer Filmemacher, geboren 1975 in El Mohammedia, wo er auch heute noch lebt. Nach einem ersten Zyklus von Filmstudien am Nordafrikanischen Filminstitut setzte er seine Ausbildung an der School of Arts and Cinema in Tunis fort, wo er sich auf das Schreiben von Drehbüchern spezialisierte. Anschließend nahm er an einer Reihe von Workshops zum Thema Drehbuchschreiben teil.
„El Gort“, sein erster abendfüllender Dokumentarfilm, der als Weltpremiere auf dem Filmfestival von Abu Dhabi gezeigt wurde, erhielt den Preis für den besten Filmemacher der arabischen Welt und einen Preis der Internationalen Kritik des Internationalen Verbands der Filmpresse (FIPRESCI). Außerdem erhielt er 2014 die Talenttaube auf dem DOK-Festival in Leipzig und den Bronzenen Tanit in Karthago.

 

Petit Jo, Enfant des Rues

Petit Jo

SO 21 NOV
16.00 HUMBOLDT FORUM
Jugendfilm
TICKETS

von Daniel Kamwa | Südafrika, Kamerun | 2019 | 118 min | OmU
in Anwesenheit von Daniel Kamwa

 

„Petit Jo, Enfant des Rues“ erzählt die Geschichte eines mixed-race Jungen in Kamerun, der sich trotz einiger Schicksalsschläge nicht vom Weg abbringen lässt.
Als Pater Moussima einen ausgesetzten Säugling auf dem Flur des Krankenhauses in Bonabéri findet, steht seine Entscheidung sofort fest: Er möchte sich als alleinerziehender Vater um den Jungen kümmern. Egal was die Nachbarn sagen – er meistert die Herausforderungen des Elterndaseins mit Ruhe und Bravour und adoptiert Jo allen bürokratischen Hürden zum Trotz offiziell. Mit 12 Jahren schickt Moussima ihn in ein evangelisches Internat. Als Jos Ziehvater stirbt und er in die Mittelschule wechseln möchte, wird er schließlich von der Vergangenheit eingeholt – seine Geburtsurkunde fehlt…

Daniel Kamwas Verfilmung des gleichnamigen Buches von Evelyne Mpoudi Ngollé zeigt die Lebensrealitäten von Kindern und Jugendlichen, die aufgrund der Umstände, in die sie hineingeboren wurden, unsichere und risikoreiche Lebenswege einschlagen müssen und auf sich allein gestellt sind und zugleich die Notwendigkeit von Gemeinschaft in diesen Realitäten. Kamwa eröffnet die Frage der Moral, die Komplexität von Gut und Böse in Hinsicht auf das Überleben und unterstreicht den kulturellen sowie sozialpolitischen Kontext Kameruns.

Mit einer interaktiven Kontextualisierung Kameruns wird die Filmvorstellung eingeleitet. Der zweistündige Film wird mit einer Unterbrechung gezeigt. In der Pause werden dem Regisseur Daniel Kamwa Fragen zum Film gestellt, die dem jungen Publikum als Referenzpunkte zur Fortsetzung des Films dienen. Nach der Vorstellung gibt es ein Q&A.

Die Vorstellung wird von Rebecca Pokua Korang moderiert. Seit 2017 arbeitet sie mit AFRIKAMERA zusammen. Rebecca ist performative Künstlerin, Empowerment-Trainerin und arbeitet in der mobilen Jugendarbeit in Berlin. Ihre künstlerische Recherche fokussiert sich auf Identität, Migration und deutsche Kolonialgeschichte in Ghana.

 

Der in Kamerun geborene Daniel Kamwa ist seit fast 45 Jahren im Filmgeschäft tätig. Nach seiner Schauspielausbildung am Cours Simon war er zwei Jahre lang Mitglied der Theaterforschungsgruppe von Peter Brook. Dann begann er, in Theater-, Film- und Fernsehproduktionen zu spielen, während er die Filmschule an der Universität Paris VIII besuchte. In den Jahren 1972-73 drehte er seinen ersten Kurzfilm „Boubou-Tie“ mit Marpessa Dawn, der Hauptdarstellerin von „Orfeu Negro“ (Goldene Palme in Cannes 1959 und Oscar für den besten ausländischen Film 1960) als Partnerin. „Pousse-Pousse“, sein erster Spielfilm, kam 1975 in die Kinos und wurde ein großer kommerzieller Erfolg. Als Produzent, Autor, Regisseur und Schauspieler ist er auch als Synchronsprecher in französischer Sprache tätig. Dabei lieh er seine Stimme u.a. den Hauptdarstellern in „Live and Let Die“ – „The Ghost and the Darkness“ – „Gorillas in the Mist“ und nicht zu vergessen synchronisierte er Morgan Freeman in der Rolle des Präsidenten Nelson Mandela in“ Invictus „von Clint Eastwood.

 

Cairo Jazzman – The Groove of a Megacity

Cairo Jazzman

SA 20 NOV
22.00 ARSENAL
TICKETS

von Atef Ben Bouzid
Deutschland | 2017 | 82 min | OmE
in Anwesenheit von Atef Ben Bouzid – Q+A

 

Im Zentrum von Atef Ben Bouzids Dokumentarfilm steht der charismatische ägyptische Pianist Amr Salah. Mit wenigen Mitteln, aber umso mehr Hingabe organisiert er seit dem Jahr 2009 das Cairo Jazz Festival. Der mit flirrenden Jazzsounds unterlegte Film gewährt seltene Einsichten hinter die Kulissen des Festivals und ermöglicht zugleich einen ungewohnten Blick auf die ägyptische Megacity Kairo und eine junge Generation, die sich nach einem kulturellen und politischen Aufbruch sehnt und für Liberalität und Offenheit einsetzt.

Atef Ben Bouzid – deutscher Journalist, Regisseur und Produzent aus Berlin, arbeitete für nationale und internationale Medien und spezialisierte sich auf die Bereiche Sport, Musik und Gesellschaft. Er interessiert sich besonders für die vielen Aspekte der menschlichen Interaktion und Kommunikation über Kulturen und Länder hinweg.
Zuletzt führte Atef Ben Bouzid Regie und produzierte den Dokumentarfilm CAIRO JAZZMAN. 2017 feierte dieser seine Weltpremiere beim International Film Festival Rotterdam. Zuletzt gewann CAIRO JAZZMAN 2020 den Audience Award des Jazz Film Festival Copenhagen.

 

La Nuit des Rois

SA 20 NOV
20.00 ARSENAL
TICKETS

von Philippe Lacôte
Elfenbeinküste, Senegal, Frankreich, Kanada | 2020 | 93 min | OmE

 

La Maca („Maison d´Arrêt et de Correction d´Abidjan“), das Gefängnis von Abidjan, mitten im Wald am Rande der Stadt gelegen, ist eines der am stärksten überfüllten in Westafrika. Einer der Insassen, der alternde und kranke Gefangene Blackbeard ist ein zunehmend umstrittener „Dangoro“. Um seine Macht zu erhalten, nimmt er die Tradition des „Romans“ wieder auf, eines Rituals, das darin besteht, einen Gefangenen zu zwingen, die ganze Nacht über Geschichten zu erzählen.
In einer Griot-Rolle muss der junge Straßenkriminelle Zama bis Sonnenaufgang eine Geschichte erzählen, wenn er sein Leben retten und den Absturz des Gefängnisses ins Chaos verhindern will. Er wählt die Geschichte des berüchtigten Bandenführers Zama King…

Auf faszinierende Art und Weise, changierend zwischen Griotgeschichte und Fantasymärchen, wurde das bildgewaltige Epos von der Elfenbeinküste als Beitrag für die Oscarverleihung 2021 in der Kategorie Bester Internationaler Film eingereicht und als einer von 15 Filmen in eine Vorauswahl der Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences aufgenommen.

Director Philippe Lacôte
Director Philippe Lacôte

Philippe Lacôte wuchs in Abidjan in der Nähe eines Kinos auf – dem „Magic“. Seine Arbeit als Regisseur hatte verschiedene Formen angenommen, bevor er sich 2002 mit „Chronicles of War in the Ivory Coast“, einem Film an der Grenze zwischen Dokumentarfilm und Tagebuch, auf die jüngste Geschichte seines Landes konzentrierte. Es folgte der Spielfilm „Run“, die Geschichte eines wandernden Verrückten, der in Cannes 2014 bei ‚Un certain regard‘ ausgewählt wurde. Diese Auswahl bestätigte sein Talent als Filmemacher und zeigte eine neue Stimme des afrikanischen Kontinents. „La Nuit des Rois / Night of the Kings“ sein zweiter Spielfilm, ist ein Tauchgang in das größte Gefängnis Westafrikas während einer Nacht mit rotem Mond.

 

The Letter

THE LETTER

SA 20 NOV
18.00 ARSENAL
TICKETS

von Maia Lekow & Christopher King
Kenia | 2019 | 81 min | OmE

 

Die fast 100 Jahre alte Margaret Kamango ist eine sanfte, ironische Frau – und wird mit dem Tod bedroht. Als ihrem in Mombasa lebenden Enkel Karisa eine Facebook-Nachricht zugespielt wird, in der seine Großmutter der Hexerei beschuldigt wird, beschließt er, in sein Heimatdorf zurückzukehren, um der Sache auf den Grund zu gehen. Bei den Recherchen kommt ans Licht, dass seine Großmutter nicht die Einzige ist, die als Hexe gebrandmarkt wird….

Ohne Vorverurteilung setzen sich die beiden Regisseur*innen Maia Lekow und Christopher King mit dem Phänomen Hexerei im heutigen Kenia auseinander und zeichnen dabei das Porträt einer Gesellschaft, die sich in einem radikalen Wandel befindet. Empfehlung für Jugendliche ab 14 Jahren.

Maia Lekow ist eine kenianische Filmemacherin und Musikerin. Seit der Gründung von Circle and Square Productions im Jahr 2009 hat Maia als Regisseurin, Produzentin und Tontechnikerin für verschiedene Film- und Musikprojekte gearbeitet. Sie ist auf Bühnen in der ganzen Welt aufgetreten und komponiert weiterhin Musik für Filme. Sie erhielt einen African Movie Academy Award für ihren Song Uko Wapi und wurde am Weltflüchtlingstag 2013 zur Botschafterin des UNHCR ernannt.

Chris King ist ein preisgekrönter Filmemacher mit Sitz in Nairobi, Kenia. Der gebürtige Australier studierte an der School of Creative Arts der Universität von Melbourne, bevor er 2007 nach Kenia zog, wo er als Kameramann, Cutter, Animator, Regisseur und Produzent für Kurzfilme, Spielfilme (Fiction und Nonfiction) und Musikvideos tätig war. Im Jahr 2009 gründete Chris zusammen mit seiner Frau Maia Circle and Square Productions und erhielt im selben Jahr einen African Movie Academy Award in der Kategorie Schnitt für seine Arbeit an dem kenianischen Spielfilm „From a Whisper“.

THE LETTER ist der erste Dokumentarfilm von Maia und Chris.

 

Buddha in Africa

SA 20 NOV
16.00 ARSENAL
TICKETS

von Nicole Schafer
Südafrika, Schweden | 2019 | 90 min | OmE

Ennock ist eines von dreihundert Waisenkindern aus dem ländlichen Malawi, die in einem buddhistischen chinesischen Waisenhaus untergekommen sind.
Die Kinder und Jugendlichen hier müssen Mandarin sprechen, buddhistische Traditionen pflegen und werden auf die Beherrschung der schwierigen Kunst des Shaolin Kung Fu getrimmt.

Der Dokumentarfilm der südafrikanischen Regisseurin Nicole Schafer bietet intensive Einblicke in das Leben der Kinder im Zwiespalt zwischen den gegensätzlichen Welten des traditionellen Dorflebens und der strengen Disziplin des konfuzianisch-buddhistischen Wertesystems der Chinesen. Vor dem Hintergrund des wachsenden Einflusses Chinas auf dem Kontinent stellt Schafers Film hochaktuelle Fragen nach Bildung als Indoktrination und nach dem richtigen Verhältnis zwischen der Wahrnehmung von Bildungschancen und der Preisgabe der eigenen Identität.

 

Director Nicole Schafer
Director Nicole Schafer

BUDDHA IN AFRICA wurde von der südafrikanischen Regisseurin Nicole Schafer (geb. 1980) in jahrelanger Arbeit entwickelt. Nicole hat in Malawi gelebt, wo sie preisgekrönte Geschichten für das panafrikanische Reuters-Magazin ‚Africa Journal‘ produzierte. Zu ihren weiteren Produktionen gehören Südafrikas führende investigative Sendung ‚Carte Blanche‘, Lonely Planet TV’s ‚Six Degrees‘ und ‚Sport Traveller‘. Nicole ist die Leiterin der Produktionsfirma Thinking Strings Media, die in den Midlands von KwaZulu-Natal ansässig ist. Sie hat einen MFA-Abschluss in Film- und Fernsehproduktion der Universität von Kapstadt. Ihr Abschlussfilm, „The Ballad of Rosalind Ballingall“, wurde 2006 auf dem Filmfestival in Frijbourg gezeigt.