AIR CONDITIONER

FRI 20 NOV 21.00


Fradique
Angola 2020 | OV (English) | 72 min



Q & A Fradique & Ery Claver


The first feature-length film by Angolan director and producer Mário Bastos a.k.a. Fradique is a surreal trip through the Angolan metropolis of Luanda. For no apparent reason, the air conditioners attached to the facades fall out of their anchors en masse, killing people in the open street. The government is at a loss. Matacedo, a security guard, sets off at his boss’s behest to have his air conditioning system repaired. On the way he meets the maid Zezinha and ends up in an electrical store run by an enigmatic man named Mr. Mino…

Carried by the jazz soundtrack of the Angolan musician Aline Frazão, AIR CONDITIONER was critically acclaimed at its premiere at the Rotterdam Film Festival 2020. Produced by the Angolan collective Geração 80’s, the film is an expression of the power of young independent Angolan auteur cinema.
Co-author and cameraman Ery Claver was already a guest at AFRIKAMERA last year with his short film LÚCIA NO CÉU COM SEMÁFOROS.


Fradique is considered one of the most talented and expressive voices in contemporary Angolan cinema.
He completed his film studies in the USA and is one of the founders of the production company Geração 80. Among the few films he has directed are the short film Alambamento (2010) and the documentary Independence (2015). The film has been shown at several international film festivals and won the Angolan National Prize for Culture and Arts for the film section. He has also directed art house music videos for Angolan artists such as Nástio Mosquito and Aline Frazão. Fradique is a Berlinale Talent Alumnus and a former graduate of the Realness Screenwriting Residency.
He is currently working on his next feature film The Kingdom of Casuarinas which is scheduled for release in 2022.

AIR CONDITIONER

FR 20 NOV 21.00


Fradique
Angola 2020 | OV (Englisch) | 72 min



Q & A mit Fradique & Ery Claver


Der erste abendfüllende Spielfilm des angolanischen Regisseurs und Produzenten Mário Bastos a.k.a. Fradique ist ein surrealer Trip durch die angolanische Metropole Luanda. Ohne erkennbaren Grund fallen die an den Fassaden befestigten Klimaanlagen massenhaft aus ihren Verankerungen und erschlagen Menschen auf offener Straße. Die Regierung ist ratlos. Der Security Guard Matacedo macht sich auf Geheiß seines Bosses auf den Weg, um dessen Klimaanlage reparieren zu lassen. Unterwegs trifft er auf das Hausmädchen Zezinha und landet in einem Elektrogeschäft, das von einem enigmatischen Mann namens Mr. Mino geführt wird…

Getragen vom Jazz-Soundtrack der angolanischen Musikerin Aline Frazão, wurde AIR CONDITIONER bei seiner Uraufführung beim Filmfestival in Rotterdam 2020 von der Kritik gefeiert. Realisiert von dem angolanischen Kollektiv Geração 80’s ist der Film Ausdruck für die Kraft des jungen unabhängigen angolanischen Autorenkinos.
Co-Autor und Kameramann Ery Claver war bereits im vergangenen Jahr bei AFRIKAMERA mit seinem Kurzfilm LÚCIA NO CÉU COM SEMÁFOROS zu Gast.


Fradique gilt als eine der talentiertesten und ausdrucksstärksten Stimmen des zeitgenössischen angolanischen Kinos.
Er absolvierte sein Filmstudium in den USA und ist einer der Gründer der Produktionsfirma Geração 80. Zu den wenigen Filmen, bei denen er Regie führte, gehören der Kurzfilm Alambamento (2010) und der Dokumentarfilm Independence (2015). Der Film wurde auf mehreren internationalen Filmfestivals gezeigt und gewann den Angolan National Prize for Culture and Arts für den Bereich Film. Darüber hinaus führte er Regie bei Arthouse-Musikvideos für angolanische Künstler wie Nástio Mosquito und Aline Frazão. Fradique ist Berlinale-Talent Alumnus und ehemaliger Absolvent der Realness Screenwriting Residency.
Aktuell arbeitet er an seinem nächsten Spielfilm The Kingdom of Casuarinas, der im Jahr 2022 realisiert werden soll.