AFRIKAMERA 2019 RESIDENCY

AFRIKAMERA 2019 RESIDENCY

In the course of the twelfth issue of AFRIKAMERA, a month-long AFRIKAMERA RESIDENCY will be offered for the second time – this year in the area of ​​scriptwriting, in cooperation with the Ouaga Film Lab (http://ouagafilmlab.net).

Scholarship is the Togolese filmmaker Joël M’Maka Tchedre. His script for the feature film project I, RICH, STINGY AND GREEDY was able to prevail at this year’s Ouaga Film Labs in September against 15 other scripts. In February, Tchedre was awarded with the second prize in the OIF Pitch at the FESPACO.

As part of the residence stay the development of the script will be accompanied by the Berlin-based and working Guinea Conakry-born director Mama Keïta and the Egyptian-French author, director and producer Jihan El-Tahri as mentors.

Joël M’Maka Tchedre was born in 1987 in Togo and studied film and media in Niger and France. Since then he has been producing his own documentaries and short films and is the founder of the Togolese production company Les Films du Siècle. In 2014, he founded the Festival de cinéma Emergence in Lomé / Togo (http://emergencefestival.org), which this year from 9.-13. November will be held for the fifth time.

AFRIKAMERA RESIDENCY receives funding from the Federal Foreign Office.

AFRIKAMERA 2019 RESIDENCY

AFRIKAMERA 2019 RESIDENCY

Im Zuge der zwölften Ausgabe von AFRIKAMERA kann zum zweiten Mal eine einmonatige AFRIKAMERA RESIDENCY angeboten werden – in diesem Jahr im Bereich Scriptwriting, in Kooperation mit dem Ouaga Film Lab (http://ouagafilmlab.net).

Stipendiat ist der togoische Filmemacher Joël M’Maka Tchedre. Dessen Skript zum Spielfilmprojekt I, RICH, STINGY AND GREEDY konnte sich im Rahmen des diesjährigen Ouaga Film Labs im September gegen 15 weitere Skripte durchsetzen. Bereits im Februar wurde Tchedre hierfür beim FESPACO mit dem zweiten Preis im OIF Pitch ausgezeichnet.

Die Weiterentwicklung des Skripts wird im Rahmen des Residenzaufenthalts von dem in Berlin lebenden und arbeitenden, aus Guinea Conakry stammenden Regisseur Mama Keïta und der ägyptisch-französischen Autorin, Regisseurin und Produzentin Jihan El-Tahri als Mentor*innen begleitet.
Joël M’Maka Tchedre wurde 1987 in Togo geboren und studierte Film und Medien in Niger und Frankreich. Seitdem realisiert er eigene Dokumentar- und Kurzfilme und ist Gründer der togoischen Produktionsfirma Les Films du Siècle. Zudem gründete er 2014 das Festival de cinéma Emergence in Lomé / Togo (http://emergencefestival.org), das in diesem Jahr vom 9.-13. November zum fünften Mal stattfinden wird.

AFRIKAMERA RESIDENCY wird gefördert mit Mitteln des Auswärtigen Amts.