African Shorts – African pop cultures

FR 19 NOV
18.00 ARSENAL
TICKETS

Short Film Program
Ghana and others 2021
followed by panel discussion with Pamela Owusu-Brenyah & Fatou Kandé Senghor

 

The short film reel AFRICAN SHORTS – AFRICAN POP CULTURES (Ghana and others 2021) focuses on short formats that deal with current trends in African pop cultures, including ADIKORO – WOMEN IN MUSIC: GHANA (Ghana, Germany 2021), a short documentary by German-Ghanaian director and curator Pamela Owusu-Brenyah that deals with female empowerment in the pop music scene of Ghana. ADIKORO means something like “equal” in Twi and thus also formulates in the title the claim that Owusu-Brenyah’s debut pursues: The grievance documented in it is to be remedied and female artists encouraged to follow their dreams of a music career. An event in cooperation with the Pop-Kultur Festival Berlin.

Pamela Owusu-Brenyah is committed to the visibility of contemporary Afro-pop culture and people of African descent in Germany. The Berlin-based music consultant, festival organiser and DJ is currently a programme curator at Pop-Kultur and worked in the past as an A&R for Universal Music Central Europe & Africa. As a freelance consultant, she has curated programming for Pop-Kultur Festival, Reeperbahn Festival, Federal Ministry for Development and Cooperation and GIZ, among others, since 2019.

With the foundation of her own community platform and festival AFRO x POP in 2018, she aims to give a stage to talented female artists of the Afro-German scene. Pamela is also a jury member of Musicboard Berlin’s Artist and Residency Funding Program and a board member of Music Women* Germany, a nationwide network and digital database that promotes gender equality and women’s participation in music.

In summer 2021, the Afropop expert shot her first documentary film project. For “ADIKORO”, she travelled to Ghana, interviewed female artists and actors from the music business to get to the bottom of the socio-economic conditions that block women’s access and visibility in the local and global pop business.

Fatou Kandé Senghor

Fatou Kandé Senghor is an award-winning writer, visual artist, documentary filmmaker and educator, living in Dakar. Her most recent film, “Donner Naissance” (“Giving Birth”), was selected for the 56th Venice Biennale.

Senghor has written widely on gender, culture, history and African cinema and is the founder of Waru Studio, a space for young artists and filmmakers to explore the intersections of art, science, technology and politics in Africa. Her most important collaborations include working with Ousmane Sembène on “Faat Kiné” (2000) and with Wim Wenders on “The Invisible” (2007), a documentary about sexual violence against women in Congo.

 

Categories

African Shorts – African pop cultures

FR 19 NOV
18.00 ARSENAL
TICKETS

Kurzfilmprogramm
Ghana und andere 2021
anschließend Podiumsgespräch mit Pamela Owusu-Brenyah & Fatou Kandé Senghor

 

In der Kurzfilmrolle AFRICAN SHORTS – AFRICAN POP CULTURES (Ghana u.a. 2021) stehen kurze Formate im Fokus, die sich mit aktuellen Trends afrikanischer Popkulturen auseinandersetzen, darunter ADIKORO – WOMEN IN MUSIC: GHANA (Ghana, Deutschland 2021), eine Kurzdoku der deutsch-ghanaischen Regisseurin und Kuratorin Pamela Owusu-Brenyah, die sich mit weiblichem Empowerment in der Popmusikszene von Ghana beschäftigt. ADIKORO heißt auf Twi ungefähr soviel wie »gleichberechtigt« und formuliert damit im Titel auch den Anspruch, den Owusu-Brenyahs Debüt verfolgt: Der darin dokumentierte Missstand soll behoben und Künstlerinnen dazu ermutigt werden, ihren Träumen von einer Musikkarriere zu folgen. Eine Veranstaltung in Kooperation mit dem Pop-Kultur Festival Berlin.

Pamela Owusu-Brenyah setzt sich für die Sichtbarkeit der zeitgenössischen Afro-Pop-Kultur und Menschen afrikanischer Abstammung in Deutschland ein. Die in Berlin lebende Musikberaterin, Festivalorganisatorin und DJ ist derzeit Programmkuratorin bei Pop-Kultur und arbeitete in der Vergangenheit als A&R für Universal Music Central Europe & Africa. Als freiberufliche Beraterin kuratierte sie seit 2019 das Programm für u.a. das Pop-Kultur Festival, Reeperbahn Festival, Bundesministerium für Entwicklung und Zusammenarbeit und die GIZ.

Mit der Gründung ihrer eigenen Community-Plattform und des Festivals AFRO x POP im Jahr 2018 hat sie das Ziel, talentierten Künstlerinnen der afro- deutschen Szene eine Bühne zu geben. Pamela ist zudem Jurymitglied des Artist and Residency Funding Program des Musicboard Berlin und Vorstandsmitglied von Music Women* Germany, einem bundesweiten Netzwerk und digitalen Datenbank, die sich für die Gleichstellung der Geschlechter und die Beteiligung von Frauen in der Musik einsetzt.

Im Sommer 2021 drehte die Afropop-Expertin ihr erstes Dokumentarfilmprojekt. Für »ADIKORO« reiste sie nach Ghana, interviewte dort Künstlerinnen und Akteur*innen aus dem Musikgeschäft, um den sozioökonomischen Bedingungen auf den Grund zu gehen, die Frauen den Zugang und die Sichtbarkeit im lokalen und globalen Popgeschäft versperren.

Fatou Kandé Senghor

Fatou Kandé Senghor ist eine preisgekrönte Autorin, bildende Künstlerin, Dokumentarfilmerin und Pädagogin, sie lebt in Dakar. Ihr jüngster Film „Donner Naissance“ („Giving Birth“), wurde für die 56. Biennale von Venedig ausgewählt.

Senghor hat zahlreiche Beiträge zu den Themen Gender, Kultur, Geschichte und afrikanisches Kino verfasst und ist Gründerin von Waru Studio, einem Raum für junge Künstler und Filmemacher, in dem die Schnittstellen von Kunst, Wissenschaft, Technologie und Politik in Afrika erforscht werden. Zu ihren wichtigsten Kooperationen zählen u.a. die Zusammenarbeit mit Ousmane Sembène bei „Faat Kiné“ (2000) und mit Wim Wenders bei „The Invisible“ (2007), einem Dokumentarfilm über sexuelle Gewalt gegen Frauen im Kongo.